'The Good Wife,' 'The Mentalist' and Other CBS Shows to Start Later on NFL Doubleheader Nights
'The Good Wife,' 'The Mentalist' and Other CBS Shows to Start Later on NFL Doubleheader Nights
Michelle Carlbert
Michelle Carlbert
Contributing Writer, BuddyTV
Looks like some viewers will have to wait a little while longer to watch their favorite shows on NFL Doubleheader Sundays. Shows like The Good Wife, The Mentalist and others will be pushed back 30 minutes for viewers in the Easter and Central Time Zones.

The Good Wife is available on Amazon Prime.


I doubt that the news comes as any real surprise to either football fans or fans of CBS's Sunday night primetime series. They're basically just making official something that has happened for years. Whenever there is an NFL doubleheader, TV shows that air that night get pushed back. It's a fact of life, but it's nice to see that the network is making an effort to make the scheduling conflict as easy as possible on both types of fans. 

In a press release put out yesterday, the network said that it is launching two initiatives to help viewers navigate the adjusted start times on NFL doubleheader nights. 

First, CBS will list the scheduled start times for its Sunday night series 30 minutes later in Eastern and Central Time zones on doubleheader weekends. 

Second, the network also unveiled a multi-platform upgrade to the CBS Eye-lert system, which informs viewers of any further adjusted start times. Fans can now go to www.cbs.com/eye-lerts to sign up for SMS texts, Twitter tweets, Facebook updates and/or the previously established email alerts. Those viewers who are already registered for alert emails through the previous system will continue to receive them unless they choose to unsubscribe.

The new lineup for NFL doubleheader Sundays will run as follows:

7:30 PM, ET/6:30 PM, CT -- 60 Minutes
8:30 PM, ET/7:30 PM, CT -- Big Brother 14 (through Sept. 23)
                                         The Amazing Race (as of Sept. 30)
9:30 PM, ET/8:30 PM, CT -- The Good Wife
10:30 PM, ET/9:30 PM, CT -- The Mentalist

The NFL on CBS's 2012 doubleheader Sundays are: Sept. 16 and 23; Oct. 7 and 21; Nov. 4 and 18; and Dec. 2, 16 and 30.  

The good news for those of us on the west coast is that the start times for Sunday primetime series in Mountain and Pacific Time zones will remain as previously scheduled on those dates.

But the network isn't stopping there. In further efforts to help fans adjust to the delayed start times, they are taking the following steps: 

Within a few weeks - prior to CBS's official premiere week (Sept. 24-30) - viewers will be able to sign up for SMS text Eye-lerts without having to go online by texting a short code directly from their mobile device to register.  Details on this additional registration option will be announced in the coming weeks.

Plus, in addition to the Eye-lert updates, CBS will continue to aggressively use on-air graphics on Sunday nights to alert viewers to adjusted start times.

So what do you think of all these plans for NFL doubleheader nights? Will this help when you're ready to sit down on Sunday night to watch your favorite shows or will you still be just as frustrated to find out you have to wait an extra 30 minutes for your show to start?

(Image courtesy of CBS)



News from our partners