Miranda Richardson


Date Of Birth

March 3, 1958


Born on March 3, 1958, Miranda Richardson is an award-winning actress who made a name for herself in British cinema. She initially focused on theater work before landing various roles on both the big screen and small screen, including Empire of the Sun, Damage, The Crying Game, Merlin, The Prince and Me, Sleepy Hollow and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. In 2010, Richardson was cast as Katherine Rhumor on the AMC series Rubicon.

Place of Birth

Southport, Lancashire, England, UK

Birth Name

Miranda Jane Richardson



Fun Facts

-She initially wanted to become a vet.

-She was offered the lead role in Fatal Attraction but turned it down.


1985: Dance with a Stranger
-Evening Standard British Film Award for Best Actress
-Variety Club Award

1987: Sweet as You Are
-Royal Television Society Award for Best Performance - Female

1992: The Crying Game
-New York Film Critics Circle Award for Best Supporting Actress

1992: Damage
-BAFTA Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role
-London Critics Circle Film Award for Best British Actress
-New York Film Critics Circle Award for Best Supporting Actress

1992: Enchanted April
-Golden Globe Award for Best Actress – Motion Picture Musical or Comedy
-New York Film Critics Circle Award for Best Supporting Actress

1994: Tom & Viv
-National Board of Review Award for Best Actress

1994: Fatherland
-Golden Globe Award for Best Supporting Actress – Series, Miniseries or Television Film

1996: The Evening Star
-Society of Texas Film Critics Award for Best Supproting Actress

1996: Kansas City
-Society of Texas Film Critics Award for Best Supproting Actress

1999: Sleepy Hollow
-Blockbuster Entertainment Award for Favorite Supporting Actress - Horror

2002: Spider
-San Francisco Film Critics Circle Award for Best Supporting Actress
-Sant Jordi Award for Best Foreign Actress
-Toronto Film Critics Association Award for Best Supporting Actress


2011 A Place of Only Sky
2011 Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
2010 Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1
2010 Rubicon (TV series)
2010 Made in Dagenham
2009 The Young Victoria
2008 The Little Fox 2
2008 Spinning Into Butter
2007 The Life and Times of Vivienne Vyle (TV series)
2007 Fred Claus
2007 Puffball: The Devil's Eyeball
2006 Southland Tales
2006 Paris, Je T'Aime
2006 Provoked: A True Story
2006 Merlin's Apprentice (TV mini-series)
2005 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
2005 Gideon's Daughter (TV movie)
2005 Starry Night (short)
2005 The Adventures of Bottle Top Bill (TV series)
2005 Wah-Wah
2005 Midsummer Dream
1994-2004 Absolutely Fabulous (TV series)
2004 The Phantom of the Opera
2004 Churchill: The Hollywood Years
2004 The Prince and Me
2003 Falling Angels
2003 The Rage in Placid Lake
2003 The Actors
2003 Comic Relief 2003: The Big Hair Do (TV movie)
2003 The Lost Prince (TV movie)
2002 The Hours
2002 Spider
2001 Snow White: The Fairest of Them All (TV movie)
2000 Chicken Run (Video Game)
2000 Get Carter
2000 Chicken Run
2000 The Miracle Maker
2000 The Magic of Vincent (short)
1999 Blackadder Back & Forth (short)
1999 Sleepy Hollow
1999 Jacob Two Two Meets the Hooded Fang
1999 The Big Brass Ring
1999 The King and I
1999 Alice in Wonderland (TV movie)
1998 Ted & Ralph (TV movie)
1998 St. Ives
1998 Merlin (TV mini-series)
1998 Absolutely Fabulous: Absolutely Not! (video)
1998 The Scold's Bridle (TV movie)
1997 A Dance to the Music of Time (TV mini-series)
1997 The Apostle
1997 The Designated Mourner
1996 The Evening Star
1996 Saint-Ex
1996 Swann
1996 Kansas City
1995 The Night and the Moment
1994 Fatherland (TV movie)
1994 Tom & Viv
1993 Century
1993 The Line, the Cross & the Curve (short)
1990-1993 The Comic Strip Presents... (TV series)
1992 Damage
1992 The Crying Game
1992 True Adventures of Christopher Columbus (TV series)
1992 Mr. Wakefield's Crusade (TV movie)
1992 Enchanted April
1991 Broken Skin (short)
1991 Screenplay (TV series)
1991 Old Times (TV movie)
1990 Die Kinder (TV series)
1990 The Fool
1990 The Bachelor
1990 The Jim Henson Hour (TV series)
1990 Century
1989 Alas Smith & Jones (TV series)
1989 Blackadder Goes Forth (TV series)
1989 Twisted Obsession
1989 Ball-Trap on the Cote Sauvage (TV movie)
1988 The Storyteller (TV series)
1988 Theatre Night (TV series)
1988 Eat the Rich
1987-1988 Screen Two (TV series)
1988 Blackadder's Christmas Carol (TV movie)
1987 The Death of a Heart (TV movie)
1987 Empire of the Sun
1987 Black Adder the Third (TV series)
1986 Unnatural Causes (TV series)
1986 Shades of Darkness (TV series)
1986 Black-Adder II (TV mini-series)
1986 Telephone Behaviour: The Power and the Perils (video short)
1985 Transmutations
1985 The Innocent
1985 Dance with a Stranger
1984 A Woman of Substance (TV mini-series)
1984 Sorrell and Son (TV mini-series)
1983 Crown Court (TV series)
1982 The New Adventures of Lucky Jim (TV series)
1981 Agony (TV series)




5' 5" (1.65 m)


"I would rather do many small roles on TV, stage or film than one blockbuster that made me rich but had no acting."

Give a Positive or Negative Rating

Assign Points 0pts