'The Walking Dead' Promotes Three Stars to Series Regulars for Season 4
'The Walking Dead' Promotes Three Stars to Series Regulars for Season 4
John Kubicek
John Kubicek
Senior Writer, BuddyTV
The main cast of The Walking Dead is expanding for season 4, giving the zombies more food to mucnh on. Chad Coleman, Sonequa Martin-Green and Emily Kinney will all be promoted to series regular for the fourth season, set to premiere in October.

Coleman and Martin-Green joined the cast midway through season 3 as Tyreese, the calm leader of a group of survivors, and Sasha, his sister. Both appeared in five episodes of the show.

Kinney plays Beth Greene, Hershel's daughter with a beautiful singing voice who joined the group in season 2 at the farm.

The three join returning series regulars Andrew Lincoln (Rick), Norman Reedus (Daryl), Steven Yeun (Glenn), Lauren Cohan (Maggie), Chandler Riggs (Carl), Danai Gurira (Michonne) and David Morrissey (The Governor).

In addition, Melissa Ponzio, who plays Karen, the Woodbury resident who was the lone survivor of the Governor's vicious attack on his own people in the season 3 finale, will be back as a recurring guest star.

Interestingly enough, there's no news on whether promotions will also be in the cards for Scott Wilson (Hershel) and Melissa McBride (Carol), who have curiously never been series regulars despite appearing in most episodes (McBride has been around since season 1). However, this doesn't necessarily mean the end for either of them, or guaranteed safety for Tyreese, Sasha or Beth.

In season 3 of The Walking Dead, three of the 10 series regulars were killed off: Sarah Wayne Callies as Lori, Laurie Holden as Andrea and Michael Rooker as Merle. In season 2, two of the eight regulars died, Jon Bernthal's Shane and Jeffrey DeMunn's Dale. In season 1, only seven cast members were series regulars and they all survived.

The Walking Dead season 3 scored huge ratings for AMC, ending with a series-high 12.42 million viewers. Season 4 will begin this October.

(Image courtesy of AMC)