ABC's The Next Best Thing: Meet the Judges
ABC's The Next Best Thing: Meet the Judges
Kris De Leon
Kris De Leon
Staff Writer, BuddyTV
From Last Comic Standing producers Peter Engel and Barry Katz, and The Jamie Kennedy Experiment’s Fax Bahr and Adam Small comes a television series called The Next Best Thing: Who Is the Greatest Celebrity Impersonator? In an attempt to bring forth a unique and comical reality series into its Wednesday night niche, ABC has slated 8 episodes of the hour-long weekly alternative series, which will premiere on May 30 at 8/7C.

Hosted by Michele Merkin, The Next Best Thing: Who Is the Greatest Celebrity Impersonator? follows the search to find the best celebrity impersonators from across the country, ending with a live finale in Las Vegas. The best among the aspiring impersonators will be chosen based on their looks, how they sound and act as celebrities by the program’s three judges, consisting of Lisa Ann Walter, Jeffrey Ross and Elon Gold.

Read on for more information about the judges:

Walter, a 43-year old native of Silver Spring, Mary Land, is known as an actress, comedian, writer and film producer. She has worked in films like The Parent Trap, Bruce Almighty and War of the Worlds. She has also worked as a standup comedian for five years and has created her own sitcom Life’s Work.

Like Walter, Ross is also known as a standup comedian. In addition, he has worked as an insult comic, actor and director as well. He has also created the animated program Where My Dogs At? and has appeared on talk shows like The Late Show with David Letterman, The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, Jimmy Kimmel Live and The View among others.

As for Gold, he is known as a comedian actor, writer and producer. He has appeared on the series Stacked, In-Laws and in the movie Cheaper by the Dozen.

In each episode, the panel of judges will use their comedic expertise and wit to critique and evaluate who will go on to compete in the next round of auditions, while viewers will vote for the final and best impersonator who will take home $100,000.

-Kris De Leon, BuddyTV Staff Columnist

Source: ABC

(Photo Courtesy of ABC)