'Glee' Volume 5 Album to Feature Bieber, Paltrow and Original Songs
'Glee' Volume 5 Album to Feature Bieber, Paltrow and Original Songs
John Kubicek
John Kubicek
Senior Writer, BuddyTV
Having more Billboard Hot 100 songs than any other artist in the history of music isn't enough. Glee's total domination of modern music continues with the March 8 release of its fifth soundtrack album.

The album will feature songs from six 2011 episodes, including one that won't air until one week after the album is released.

The album features multiple songs by Michael Jackson and Justin Bieber as well as three songs by Gwyneth Paltrow as Holly Holiday, who returns in the March 8 episode, "Sexy." I guess her co-opting of Cee-Lo's "F*** You" gives her license to get even more songs.

The album will also feature two original songs. For those of you too young to remember what music was like before Glee ruled the world with covers, an original song features music and lyrics that were written specifically for this show, and therefore was not previously released or recorded by an actual musician.

The pair of original songs will feature an up-beat group number called "Loser Like Me" (wow, what an uplifting title, I wonder if they have to pay royalties to Beck) as well as a Rachel Berry ballad called "Get It Right."

Here are the 16 songs on Glee Volume 5. Note that only one song comes from tonight's "Blame It on the Alcohol," which is probably a bad sign for that episode.

From "The Sue Sylvester Shuffle":
"Thriller / Heads Will Roll" by New Directions and the football team (originally by Michael Jackson and The Yeah Yeah Yeahs)
"Need You Now" by Rachel and Puck (originally by Lady Antebellum)
"She's Not There" by Finn and the football team (originally by The Zombies)

From "Silly Love Songs":
"Fat Bottomed Girls" by Puck (originally by Queen)
"P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)" by Artie (originally by Michael Jackson)
"Firework" by Rachel (originally by Katy Perry)

From "Comeback":
"Baby" by Sam (originally by Justin Bieber)
"Somebody to Love" by The Justin Bieber Experience (originally by Justin Bieber)
"Take Me or Leave Me" by Rachel and Mercedes (originally from Rent)
"Sing" by New Directions (originally by My Chemical Romance)

From "Blame It on the Alcohol":
"Don't You Want Me" by Rachel and Blaine (originally by The Human League)

From "Sexy" (airing March 8):
"Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah)" by Holly (originally by Joan Jett)
"Kiss" by Will and Holly (originally by Prince)
"Landslide" by Holly (originally Fleetwood Mac)

From "Original Song" (airing March 15):
"Get It Right" by Rachel
"Loser Like Me" by New Directions

(Image courtesy of FOX)