The “Has Fallen” movies are one of the most exciting and action-packed franchises in recent years. Starring Gerard Butler (Mike Banning) as a Secret Service agent, the film follows Banning as he races to counter various terrorist plots.

The “Fallen” Series started with “Olympus Has Fallen” in 2013, and then two more sequels followed, “London Has Fallen” in 2016 and “Angel Has Fallen” in 2019.

The “Has Fallen” series is one of the top-ranked franchises in Hollywood, and it features some of the industry’s best actors: Gerard Butler and Morgan Freeman. There are currently three movies in the franchise, but there are plans to produce more films under the same title.

The series is commonly known as “Fallen” or “Has Fallen” movies because of the names of the three films.

The franchise is known for its high-octane action sequences and clever plot twists. The movies are also popular because they offer a unique perspective on the war on terror.

If you’re looking for an adrenaline-pumping movie series with plenty of action, then watching “Fallen” movies should be your top priority.

So, without further ado, let’s jump into the story and plot of the “Fallen” series.

Fallen Movies in Order of Release Date

  • Olympus Has Fallen (2013)
  • London Has Fallen (2016)
  • Angel Has Fallen (2019)
  • Night Has Fallen (TBA)

Olympus Has Fallen (2013)

The first movie in the “Fallen” films was released in 2013; This action thriller was directed and co-produced by Antoine Fuqua, with famous actors like Gerard Butler, Aaron Eckhart, and Morgan Freeman in the leading roles.

The story follows Mike as a former U.S. Army Ranger-turned-Secret Service Agent. His job is to protect President Benjamin Asher and his family, including First Lady Margaret and their son Connor.

One day while driving from Camp David to a fundraiser on Christmas day, the presidential limousine crashes on an icy bridge after spinning out of control. Banning manages to rescue Asher but watches helplessly as his wife falls to her death before his eyes.

Eighteen months after the death of the wife of President Asher, Banning got work at the Treasury Department and was removed from the presidential detail.

During a meeting between Asher and South Korean Prime Minister Lee Tae-Woo at the White House, North Korean terrorist group Kang Yeonsak mounts an air attack to capture the building and take President Asher’s life.

With all the exit points blocked, and the White House communications system down, Banning is the only one who can save President Asher and his family. He springs into action to take on the terrorists and prevent them from carrying out their mission in the white house.

The movie was successful at the box office and with the critics and earned $170 million against its budget of $70 Million.

If you haven’t watched “Fallen” movies, I highly recommend you start with “Olympus Has Fallen.” It’s an edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you hooked until the very end.

London Has Fallen (2016)

“London Has Fallen” was released three years after its prequel, directed by Babak Najafi.

Gerard Butler returns as Secret Agent Banning in “London Has Fallen,” the explosive sequel to the worldwide hit Olympus Has Fallen. Banning discovers a plot to assassinate world leaders attending the service in London for the funeral of the British Prime Minister.

When they reach the city, terrorists launch simultaneous attacks disguised as members of the Metropolitan Police, Queen’s Guardsmen, and other first responders. The attack kills five western leaders.

Banning now has to spring into action to stop the terrorists and save the day. “London Has Fallen” has everything an action movie should have – great action sequences, tricky twists, and plenty of suspense.

Featuring an all-star cast, including Aaron Eckhart, Morgan Freeman, and Angela Bassett, “London Has Fallen” is an action-packed thrill ride that will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end.

The movie was a commercial success, earning $205 million against its budget of $60 million. If you liked the previous film, then you’ll enjoy this one as well.

Angel Has Fallen (2019)

The third movie in the “Fallen” series, “Angel Has Fallen,” was released in 2019. This time, Ric Roman Waugh took over the director’s chair from Babak Najafi.

The story begins when President Allan Trumbull endorses Banning for the position of Secret Service Director. He is being trained at Salient Global Private Military Facility, where he hides his sleep disorder.

One day while on a private fishing trip, the President is attacked by deadly drones that kill all but Banning, who protects him. This is when Banning goes on the run to clear his name.

As he is being pursued by the FBI and a team of U.S. Marshals, Banning must use all his skills and training to evade capture and uncover the plot against the President.

“Angel Has Fallen” is another exciting entry in the “Fallen” series. The movie’s non-stop action and thrilling plot will keep you entertained from beginning to end.

The movie was one of the best in terms of story and action and was a commercial success, earning $140 million against its budget of $46 million.

If you’re a fan of action movies, I recommend checking out the “Fallen” series. Start with “Olympus Has Fallen” and work your way up to “Angel Has Fallen.” You won’t be disappointed.

Night Has Fallen (TBA)

The fourth installment in the series with the name “Night Has Fallen” is yet to be released. The movie was supposed to be released but delayed for unknown reasons.

The movie’s plot is currently unknown, but it is rumored that the story will pick up where “Angel Has Fallen” left off.

According to a Deadline report in November 2019, Angel Has Fallen producer Alan Siegel has plans to expand the franchise with at least three more sequels and numerous TV spinoffs in various countries. The aim is to introduce new characters who will appear in future installments.

FAQs about Fallen movies

How many Fallen movies are there?

Three Fallen movies have been released, with a fourth one currently in development. The first movie, “Olympus Has Fallen,” was released in 2013, and the second movie, “London Has Fallen,” was released in 2016.

The third movie, “Angel Has Fallen,” was released in 2019, and the fourth movie, Night Has Fallen, does not have a release date yet. All the films have Gerard Butler as secret security services officer Mike Banning.

What is the best order to watch Fallen movies?

It is best to watch the fallen series in chronological order. The lead character, Mike Banning, is introduced in “Olympus Has Fallen,” and the story continues in “London Has Fallen” and “Angel Has Fallen.”

The fourth movie, “Night Has Fallen,” does not have a release date yet. It is rumored that the story will pick up where “Angel Has Fallen” left off.

Are all Fallen movies connected?

Yes, the stories are all connected and follow Mike Banning as he tries to protect the President from different threats.

Which Fallen movie is best?

This is a matter of opinion, but I think “Angel Has Fallen” is the best movie in the series. It has the best story and action sequences of all the films.

More Movie Suggestions from BuddyTV

If you enjoyed this list, be sure to check out our other similar movies.


Senior Writer, BuddyTV

Experienced Writer and Graphics Designer