Date Of Birth

January 11, 1956


Phyllis Logan is a Scottish who graduated from the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama. She made her debut in the TV movie Red Dress in 1977 but landed her breakthrough role in 1983 in the movie Another Time, Another Place, which earned her several nominations and awards for her role as Janie. On the small screen, she had notable roles on Lovejoy, where she played Lady Jane Felsham from 1986 to 1994, on Bust where she portrayed Sheila Walsh, and Holby City as Muriel McKendrick. In 2010, she was cast on the British drama series Downton Abbey as Mrs. Hughes.

Place of Birth

Paisley, Scotland, UK

Birth Name

Phyllis Logan




1984: Evening Standard British Film Award for Best Actress – Another Time, Another Place

1983: Golden Mask for Another Time, Another Place


2010-present Downton Abbey (TV series)
2010 Lip Service (TV series)
2010 A Touch of Frost (TV series)
2004-2010 Silent Witness (TV series)
2010 Wallander (TV series)
2009 Nativity!
1999-2009 Heartbeat (TV series)
2008 The Royal (TV series)
2008 New Tricks (TV series)
2008 The Hero’s Journey (short)
2008 Taggart (TV series)
2008 Honest (TV series)
2007 Trial & Retribution (TV series)
2005-2006 MI-5 (TV series)
2006 Sea of Souls (TV series)
2006 Missing (TV movie)
2005 Beneath the Skin (TV movie)
2004 Murder in Suburbia (TV series)
2004 Cheap Rate Gravity (short)
2004 Dalziel and Pascoe (TV series)
2004 Out of the Shadows (short)
2003 Agatha Christie’s Poirot (TV series)
2003 Alibi (TV movie)
2003/II Crust
2003 The Inspector Lynley Mysteries (TV series)
2002 The Real Jane Austen (TV documentary)
2002 Fields of Gold (TV movie)
2002 Dickens (TV series)
2001 NCS: Manhunt (TV movie)
2000 Hope & Glory (TV series)
2000 Randall & Hopkirk (Deceased) (TV series)
1999 All the King’s Men (TV movie)
1999 Rab C. Nesbitt (TV series)
1999 Holby City (TV series)
1999 Midsomer Murders (TV series)
1998 Invasion: Earth (TV mini-series)
1997 An Unsuitable Job for a Woman (TV series)
1997 Shooting Fish
1996 Inspector Morse (TV series)
1996 Secrets & Lies
1996 Pie in the Sky (TV series)
1995 Franz Kafka’s It’s a Wonderful Life (short)
1995 Chiller (TV series)
1995 The Big One (TV movie)
1995 Kavanagh QC (TV series)
1986-1994 Lovejoy (TV series)
1993 Love and Reason (TV mini-series)
1993 Silent Cries
1993 Soft Top Hard Shoulder
1992 Freddie as F.R.O.7.
1991 The Play on One (TV series)
1991 Screen One (TV series)
1990 Il sole buio
1989 Goldeneye (TV movie)
1989 And a Nightingale Sang (TV movie)
1986-1989 Screen Two (TV series)
1989 The Angry Earth
1988 Hannay (TV series)
1988 The Legendary Life of Ernest Hemingway
1986-1987 Bust (TV series)
1987 The Kitchen Toto
1987 First Sight (TV series)
1986 The Inquiry
1986 Scotch & Wry (video)
1985 The Doctor and the Devils
1985 Time and the Conways (TV movie)
1984 The Chain
1984 1984
1984 The Dress (short)
1983 Another Time, Another Place
1983 Every Picture Tells a Story
1981 Play for Today (TV series)
1980 Shoestring (TV series)
1980 The White Bird Passes (TV movie)
1977 Red Dress (TV movie)