The production of the “Flowers in the Attic” movie series started in 2014 with Lifetime pictures. This drama, romance, and thriller series is based on the best-selling cult-classic novel “Flowers in the Attic” by writer V.C. Andrews started in 1979.

“Flowers in the Attic” and its three sequels, directed by Deborah Chow, Karen Moncrieff, Nancy Savoca, and Shawn Ku, performed well for Lifetime and are welcomed with tremendous success.

Now, in 2022, owing to the success and fame achieved by these movie series, Lifetime has decided to dwell further into Andrews’ Dollanganger Saga.

This blog post will help you with complete information on “Flowers in the Attic” movies in order and the new series.

All the “Flowers in the Attic” Movies in Order of Release Date

  • Flowers in the Attic (2014)
  • Flowers in the Attic 2: Petals on the Wind (2014)
  • If There Be Thorns (2015)
  • Seeds of Yesterday (2015)
  • Flowers in the Attic: The Origin (2022)

Flowers in the Attic (2014)

This romance, drama, mystery, and thriller movie is directed by Deborah Chow and distributed by Lifetime Pictures. The star cast includes Heather Graham, Ellen Burstyn, Kiernan Shipka, and Mason Dye.

The film centers around the Dollanganger children, Chris, Cathy, and twins Carrie and Cory, who, after their father Christopher’s death, face cruel treatment from their cold-hearted fanatic grandmother Olivia, who considers them “The Devil’s Spawn.”

They have to stay hidden in the Attic in the sprawling Virginia mansion known as Foxworth Hall, where Cathy and Chris develop a love for each other.

The movie has beautiful sets, an intelligent script, and top-rated actors and deals with the controversial theme of incest. The cinematography and staging are above par. If you are a fan of movies inspired by novels, we recommend you watch this series.

Flowers in the Attic 2: Petals on the Wind (2014)

This movie is a sequel to the 2014 film “Flowers in the Attic.” It is a gothic thriller based on V.C. Andrews’ 1980 novel Petals on the Wind, a book series about a perverse family. Directed by Karen Moncrieff, this part of the series was also distributed by Lifetime Pictures.

Its star cast includes Heather Graham, Ellen Burstyn, Rose Mclver, Wyatt Nash, Bailey Buntin, and Dylan Bruce.

The film follows the surviving Dollanganger children- Chris, Cathy, and Carrie- ten years after escaping the Attic, and they survive with the help of a kind man named Paul Sheffield. Cathy and Christopher still have a disturbing attachment to each other, and Cathy decides to avenge her mother, Corrine, with a plan to seduce her husband, Bart.

The viewers appreciate Ellen Burstyn’s performance as a grandmother, though all the actors did an excellent job. The movie is a real-time drama that dares to bring what many may consider taboo or shocking subjects like incest and a romantic triangle.

The movie keeps the viewer engaged by offering a rollercoaster of emotions, believable characters with realistic dilemmas, and good acting.

If There Be Thorns (2015)

“If There Be Thorns” is a thrilling television adaptation of the acclaimed 1981 novel that continues to captivate audiences today. It is directed by Nancy Savoca and produced by Richard D. Arredondo and Harvey Kahn. The star cast of the movie includes Heather Graham, Rachael Karpani, and Jason Lewis.

The siblings Cathy and Christopher are happily living together as a couple under the surname of Sheffield to avoid scandal. And raising Cathy’s two children, Jory and Bart, from two different fathers, when their past comes to haunt them as their mother, Corrine, moves in next door. She befriends Bart and starts poisoning his mind against his parents.

The film is a horror movie with Corrine as the bogeyman with a mysterious plan against Chris and Christopher.

This wonderfully Gothic story deals with the systematic corruption of the child, who already has the blood of a fairly ruthless father. Lifetime Television has done an excellent job with a story with such dark tones.

Seeds Of Yesterday (2015)

“Seeds Of Yesterday” is the fourth part of the series; the movie is directed by Shawn Ku, and the stars Rachael Carpani, James Maslow, and Jason Lewis.

The story started when after 13 years, Cathy and Chris journeyed to Foxworth Hall on Bart’s 25th birthday. Despite his deep-seated obsession with Malcolm, he was estranged from his mother and uncle/stepfather due to their taboo relationship. To commemorate this milestone event, Bart rebuilt the once-decayed hall for them to enjoy.

He went so far as to change his last name from Foxworth to demonstrate how alienated he felt from them. His ire and loathing are mostly directed at Chris, despite his strong ardor for their mother.

When Jory and Melodie arrive with news of her pregnancy – twins!- everyone but Bart shows elation; deep down, Bart desires Melodie yet battles the envy that arises seeing such joy come about for his brother.

The film adds an extra layer of suspense and tragedy to the novel as the secrets of the past come to haunt them all. It is an adaptation that does justice to V.C. Andrews’ original work, with a gripping tale and remarkable performances from its stars.

The movie has been praised for its extraordinary production values and intense, vibrant story that stays with the viewers long after it ends. It is an excellent example of a top-notch Lifetime production that stands out in terms of quality.

Flowers in the Attic: The Origin (2022-)

This is the latest addition to the Lifetime adaptation of V.C Andrews’ novels, which has been a runaway success for the channel. It is directed by Declan O’Dwyer and Robin Sheppard and stars Jemima Rooper, Max Irons, T’Shan Williams, Evelyn Miller, and Peter Bramhill.

In a gripping prequel to the forty-million-selling novel Corrine’s Children, now brought to life on the big screen in two different movies, audiences witness Olivia Winfield transform from an innocent young wife into her later years as a ghastly grandmother. Get ready for an enthralling account of one woman’s journey over time!

In “Flowers in the Attic: The Origin,” a four-part miniseries, viewers will explore Olivia’s early years as she marries Malcolm Foxworth–a debonair charmer. Yet soon after, her seemingly idyllic life takes an unexpected turn and turns into an unspeakable nightmare.

It tells the origin, scandalous and depraved story of the Foxworth Family. The four-part miniseries centers around a competent and independent Olivia Foxworth. Her life at Foxworth Hall turns out to be an ever-worsening nightmare.

The four-part Lifetime Miniseries delves into the dark reality of Olivia Winfield, uncovering her tangled history and explaining why she had kept her grandkids in an attic. Garden of Shadows sets the stage for this enthralling exploration, weaving a captivating tale that reveals hidden motivations behind such incomprehensible acts.

Final Words

If you have an affinity for drama, romance, and thrillers, then Flowers in the Attic is a must-watch! The movie has its sequel and prequel as well – ensuring that your cinematic experience will be spectacular.

The series is a perfect blend of drama, romance, and thriller that will thrill you.  The movie also provides a unique opportunity to explore the darker side of human nature as it takes viewers on an unforgettable journey to understanding what led Olivia down her dark path.

More BuddyTV Movies Suggestions

If you’re looking for more great suggestions to watch next, take a gander at our following lists.


Senior Writer, BuddyTV

Experienced Writer and Graphics Designer