CBS’ Emmy Award Winning reality series The Amazing Race has officially begun. Eleven teams kicked off the journey for the series’ 27th trip around the world, beginning in Venice Beach, California and are en route to their first destination of Rio de Janeiro.

The Amazing Race, hosted by Phil Keoghan, follows the journeys of eleven different two-person teams as they journey across the world. The teams are given different destinations to reach and once they get there, a series of physical and mental challenges awaits them. After they have completed these challenges, they are sent to their next destination.

Here are the teams that will be competing this season:

-Ernest Phillips and Jin Lao, brothers from Boston
-Denise Williams and James Earl Corley, mother and son from Prattville, Ala.
Cindy and Rick Chac, newlyweds from San Diego, Calif.
-Alex Manard and Adam Dingeman, cousins from Chicago and Des Moines, Iowa, respectively
-Justin Scheman and Diana Bishop, engaged couple from Philadelphia
-Jazmine Lewis and Danielle Littleton, athletes from Los Angeles
-Tanner Kloven and Josh Ahern, best friends from Dallas
-Kelly Berning and Shevonne Sullivan, TMZ editor and post production supervisor, respectively, from Los Angeles
-Kelsey Gerckens and Joey Buttitta, dating news anchors from Santa Barbara, Calif.
-Logan Fazio and Chris Gordon, dating paparazzi from Miami Beach, Fla.
-Tiffany Chantell Torres and Krista DeBono, friends from Hoboken, N.J., and Staten Island, N.Y., respectively

The Amazing Race premieres Friday, Sept. 25 on CBS.

(Image courtesy of CBS.)

Kartik Chainani

Contributing Writer, BuddyTV