The past couple episodes of Smash have been game-changers of sorts and are very easily setting up what we can expect to see in the remainder of season 1. The workshop didn’t go so well, so now Karen and Ivy have to cope with that aftermath. And Julia and Michael ended their affair, but that doesn’t mean she’s out of the woods completely. Four preview clips have been released ahead of tonight’s episode, “Hell on Earth,” showing the reverberations of what happens after the workshop and the affair.

According to NBC, tonight “The team begins their pursuit of a marquee star, as Eileen charges Tom and Julia with finding a title for the newly reinvigorated musical. Karen and Ivy find themselves in competition again — this time for an orange juice commercial. Relationship troubles abound, as Frank makes an unwelcome discovery.”

Last week, Tom revealed to Ivy that the musical team will be seeking out a star for the role of Marilyn. So what’s Ivy to do now? Well, go back to the chorus. And it’s obvious that she’s depressed by having to do so.

And what about Karen? She’s booked a commercial, and let’s just say it isn’t easy being green — Karen’s in a green screen outfit surrounded by even more green screen to promote an orange juice product:

Karen and Ivy have never really gotten along. But is that all about to change? In this next clip, the two join forces on Rihanna‘s “Cheers (Drink to That)” on the streets of New York City, with a throng of onlookers. Do you notice that Ivy’s still in her chorus costume?

Finally, Julia and Michael have ended their not-so-secret affair. But Julia’s not out of the woods yet. Her husband, Frank, finds out about the affair, and let’s just say the confrontation isn’t pretty.

And here’s a TV spot promo for “Hell on Earth”:

Brian D’Arcy, who plays Frank, spoke with TVLine about what goes down tonight between husband and wife. Now that Frank knows, will they no longer be going through with the adoption? James says, “That’s safe to say. It definitely becomes not high on the list of things to take care of, after the [husband/wife showdown] is in full bloom. We’re heading down a rocky road.”

If you’ve enjoyed listening to the music on Smash every week, then you’re in luck. The first soundtrack, The Music of Smash, will be released on May 1. Here is the tracklisting:

1. Touch me
2. Stand
3. Who You Are
4. Crazy
5. Beautiful
6. Haven’t Met You Yet
7. Shake It Out
8. Brigher Than the Sun
9. Let Me Be Your Star
10. The 20th Century Fox Mambo
11. Mr. & Mrs. Smith
12. Let’s Be Bad
13. History is Made at Night

Smash airs Mondays at 10pm on NBC.

(Image courtesy of NBC)

Jeff Dodge

Staff Writer, BuddyTV

Jeff Dodge, a graduate of Western Washington University, has been a TV news editor for many years and has had the chance to interview multiple reality show stars, including Randy Jackson, Nick Cannon, Heidi Klum, Mel B and John Cena.