In a bid to compete with cable shows that have shorter runs each season compared with the networks, ABC is planning on splitting up a handful of their own shows into two batches, the first to air in the fall and the second in the spring. This was announced during the Upfront presentations in May, with the goal of not having repeats spread randomly throughout the season and instead airing each batch in uninterrupted installments.

ABC Sets Fall 2013 Premiere Dates: Late Start for Wonderland Spin-Off >>>

The shows taking part in this split season strategy are Grey’s Anatomy, Nashville, Once Upon a Time, Revenge and Scandal.

ABC has now announced when those split season shows will return in 2014, along with premiere dates for The Quest and Resurrection. Both are only expected to air a limited number of episodes, with The Quest taking over One Upon a Time in Wonderland‘s timeslot after the fantasy drama spin-off ends its first season, and Resurrection taking over the Sunday at 10pm timeslot from Betrayal, which debuts in the fall.

Take a look at ABC’s midseason return dates and find out when these two new dramas are set to debut:

Thursday, January 2, 2014
8-10pm: The Quest (NEW)

Wednesday, February 26
10-11pm: Nashville

Thursday, February 27
9-10pm: Grey’s Anatomy
10-11pm: Scandal

Sunday, March 9
8-9pm: Once Upon a Time
9-10pm: Revenge
10-11pm: Resurrection (NEW)

ABC will announce winter premiere dates for their other shows at a later time.

Want to add Nashville, Grey’s Anatomy and all your favorite ABC shows to your very own watch-list? Download BuddyTV Guide for free for your phone.

(Image courtesy of ABC)

Jeff Dodge

Staff Writer, BuddyTV

Jeff Dodge, a graduate of Western Washington University, has been a TV news editor for many years and has had the chance to interview multiple reality show stars, including Randy Jackson, Nick Cannon, Heidi Klum, Mel B and John Cena.