Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

I Rest My Case

Season 1, Episode 37 - Air Date: 9/26/2007
Episode Guide

Lost Without U

Season 1, Episode 36 - Air Date: 9/26/2007
Episode Guide

Gone in 60 Seconds

Season 1, Episode 35 - Air Date: 9/26/2007
Episode Guide

The Fast and the Furious

Season 1, Episode 34 - Air Date: 9/19/2007
Episode Guide

Heavy Petting

Season 1, Episode 33 - Air Date: 9/19/2007
Episode Guide

New Beginnings

Season 1, Episode 32 - Air Date: 9/19/2007
Episode Guide

Dog Day Afternoon

Season 1, Episode 31 - Air Date: 9/19/2007
Episode Guide

Why Can't We Be Friends?

Season 1, Episode 30 - Air Date: 9/12/2007
Episode Guide

Balancing Act

Season 1, Episode 29 - Air Date: 9/12/2007
Episode Guide

The Big Test

Season 1, Episode 28 - Air Date: 9/5/2007
Episode Guide

Weeping May Endure For a Night

Season 1, Episode 27 - Air Date: 9/5/2007
Episode Guide

Sad, Sad Leroy Brown (2)

Season 1, Episode 26 - Air Date: 8/29/2007
Episode Guide

Sad, Sad Leroy Brown (1)

Season 1, Episode 25 - Air Date: 8/29/2007
After a fire yields a neighbors' house unlivable, he moves in with the Paynes, but he soon emerges as an pestering houseguest.
Episode Guide

The Perfect Storm

Season 1, Episode 24 - Air Date: 8/22/2007
The firehouse is overwhelmed by a nasty storm that hits Atlanta. Miscommunication about retrieving the kids from school causes a mix up that leads to sparks flying between C.
Episode Guide

Teacher's Pet

Season 1, Episode 23 - Air Date: 8/22/2007
After Jazmine "rescues” a hamster from her school, assistant principal Nicole Jamieson comes to the Payne household to investigate, sparking a schoolboy crush from Malik.
Episode Guide

Absolutely Positive

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 8/15/2007
Curtis has to undergo a colonoscopy, but he’s nervous about it. He finally agrees, but after the doctor finds a polyp, Curtis becomes convinced he’s going to die.
Episode Guide

I Got the Hook Up

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 8/15/2007
Newly divorced CJ finds that everyone in his life wants to "hook him up” with a date, and they all have the perfect woman for him.
Episode Guide

And Justice for All

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 8/8/2007
Curtis tries every trick in the book to get out of jury duty, but Claretha, who has also been summoned, convinces him to go.
Episode Guide

Sadly Mistaken

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 8/8/2007
Ella is arrested in a case of mistaken identity, while Calvin has difficulty cramming for his mid-terms.
Episode Guide

Club PCP

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 8/1/2007
Ella, Curtis, CJ and the kids head to Florida to visit relatives, leaving Calvin in charge of the house.
Episode Guide

Cracking Under Pressure

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 8/1/2007
Janine and her "friends” steal from the Payne household. And Calvin trains for a marathon.
Episode Guide

Paternity and Fraternity (2)

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 7/25/2007
The possibility that CJ might be the father of another child continues to be a family issue. Meanwhile, Malik continues to keep company with sketchy kids.
Episode Guide

Paternity and Fraternity (1)

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 7/25/2007
CJ discovers the shocking possibility that he may have another daughter besides Jazmine. And Malik causes concern in the household after he starts hanging out with the wrong crowd.
Episode Guide

Head of the Class

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 7/18/2007
While Curtis and Ella enter in an art class jointly, Jazmine makes up her mind to enter politics by running for school president.
Episode Guide

Wax On, Wax Off

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 7/18/2007
When Malik gets excessively consumed with taking showers, Ella worries that he has OCD. In the meantime with help from Curtis the firehouse crew gets ready for the annual inspection.
Episode Guide

The Buck Stops Here

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 7/11/2007
While expecting the impending arrival of a new female firefighter, who simply may stir up their male-dominated world, the firehouse guys fire up fund-raising concepts for charity.
Episode Guide

I Keep Coming Up Short

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 7/11/2007
Curtis and Ella finally get some alone time at home, but disaster strikes when Curtis is unable to "perform.
Episode Guide

Father Knows Best

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 7/4/2007
Janine's parents file for custody of Jazmine and Malik. Meanwhile, Curtis' firehouse wins an award for fastest response time, leading to their fastest truck being stolen.
Episode Guide

Surprise, Surprise

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 7/4/2007
Episode Guide

Just Say No

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 6/27/2007
Jazmine comes home extremely upset after a graphic and intense anti-drug presentation at school. CJ tries to talk to her without revealing the truth about Janine, but in the end, he spells out the situation for Jazmine.
Episode Guide

No Money, Mo' Problems

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 6/27/2007
Curtis offers his retirement money to CJ so he can move his family out of Curtis & Ella’s house. When CJ accepts the offer, Curtis can’t help him move out fast enough.
Episode Guide

Down and Outted

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 6/20/2007
CJ is down in the dumps over finding Janine in a crack house, and it’s starting to affect his work and his relationship with his children.
Episode Guide

Lost and Found

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 6/20/2007
Janine is still missing, and the family is starting to get worried. Meanwhile, Curtis is getting more and more frustrated over the fact that he has no quiet time in his house.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 6/13/2007
Calvin is trying to fix his money problems by selling knock-off purses while Janine’s money problems get increasingly worse.
Episode Guide

More Than Meets the Eye

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 6/13/2007
Not having a home is weighing on CJ’s mind, and nobody has been able to cheer him up. To make matters worse, the electric company calls him and tells him the electric bill hasn’t been paid.
Episode Guide

I Can Cry If I Want To

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 6/6/2007
As he does every birthday, Curtis decides to "refresh” his look, which includes teeth-bleaching, a new hair color and a return to his rookie uniform, which is way too small for him.
Episode Guide

Bully and the Beast

Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 6/6/2007
Curtis is bothered by the constant stream of visitors coming through his house, including his own college-age son, Calvin, and his nephew, CJ, and his nephew’s entire family.