Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

The Ties That Bind

Season 1, Episode 27 - Air Date: 5/5/2004
Julie and Caleb walk down the aisle, as Ryan and Theresa face a difficult decision regarding their pregnancy.
Episode Guide

The Strip

Season 1, Episode 26 - Air Date: 4/28/2004
It's Bachelor and Bachelorette party time for Caleb and Julie. Caleb and the boys head off to Las Vegas while Kirsten organizes an evening at the Cohen house for Julie, strippers included.
Episode Guide

The Shower

Season 1, Episode 25 - Air Date: 4/21/2004
Everyone is still reacting to the surprise engagement of Julie and Caleb. Kirsten is shocked, and a little burdened to find she's been asked to be Julie's Maid of Honour.
Episode Guide

The Proposal

Season 1, Episode 24 - Air Date: 4/14/2004
Jimmy and Sandy run into a roadblock in their effort to re-open the Balboa Lighthouse restaurant. Summer and Seth take it upon themselves to finally make Marissa feel more at home at Jimmy's.
Episode Guide

The Nana

Season 1, Episode 23 - Air Date: 3/31/2004
Nana Cohen comes to California for Passover with some sad news. Ryan searches for Marissa, who'd gone missing after learning Julie and Luke's secret, and he finds her in the most unlikely of places.
Episode Guide

The L.A.

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 3/24/2004
When Summer and Marissa run into Grady Bridges, the star of Summer's favourite prime-time soap 'The Valley', he invites them to an LA party, and they accept.
Episode Guide

The Goodbye Girl

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 3/3/2004
Anna announces that she is leaving Newport to go back to Pittsburgh, which leaves Seth feeling saddened and guilt-ridden.
Episode Guide

The Telenovela

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 2/25/2004
Ryan and Marissa begin their life together as "friends", but both discover that it might be harder to do than to say.
Episode Guide

The Heartbreak

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 2/18/2004
It's Valentine's Day in Newport, and everyone is preparing for the Valentine's singles benefit. Luke has a new crush, while Sandy gives Seth some sex advice.
Episode Guide

The Truth

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 2/11/2004
Changes are happening within the couplehoods of the O.C.'ers. Lines seem to be blurred. Oliver reveals himself as he falls apart, but not before Ryan is completely left in the cold.
Episode Guide

The Rivals

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 1/21/2004
Sandy and Jimmy have plans to sign papers for the Lighthouse... but is Jimmy ready? Oliver makes his plans official to Ryan, but Ryan just cannot catch a break from anyone and finds himself in an all too familiar position.
Episode Guide

The Links

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 1/14/2004
Oliver plans a trip for the gang, but things don't go as well as everyone might have hoped- except for Oliver of course.
Episode Guide

The Third Wheel

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 1/7/2004
Hailey discovers she isn't as welcome as she might have thought. Perhaps the Cohen house is full? Luke makes some new friends, while Seth and Anna try to tell a friend about their decision.
Episode Guide

The Countdown

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 12/17/2003
It's New Years and "love" is in the air. A sister returns home, and throws a party. Oliver casts his spell.
Episode Guide

The Best Chrismukkah Ever

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 12/3/2003
Ryan, and the World, are officially introduced to the bi-religious holiday Chrismukkah, thanks to Seth.
Episode Guide

The Secret

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 11/26/2003
Seth and Kirsten want to avoid facing the world after their respective displays at Thanksgiving. Sandy has some advice for Jimmy, which doesn't sit well with Julie.
Episode Guide

The Homecoming

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 11/19/2003
It's Thanksgiving time in 'the O.C.' It's time for family reunions, and Ryan gets called home by his family.
Episode Guide

The Perfect Couple

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 11/12/2003
Couples are plentiful in 'The O.C.' It is a night of firsts. Now that they are free to love one another, Ryan and Marissa plan their first official date.
Episode Guide

The Heights

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 11/5/2003
Back to school for the O.C. kids. No one really wants to be there, except for the gossips. Ryan doesn't feel like he fits in at his new school, and Luke doesn't make the situation any better.
Episode Guide

The Rescue

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 10/29/2003
Everyone is back home in Newport, and Marissa is recovering. Julie points her finger at Ryan and forbids him from seeing Marissa, who does not appreciate the help.
Episode Guide

The Escape

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 9/16/2003
The Newport kids plan an end-of-summer trip down to Tijuana, Mexico (aka "T.J."). Jimmy has plans of his own, which don't sit well with Marissa.
Episode Guide

The Girlfriend

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 9/9/2003
Kirsten's father, Caleb Nichol, comes for a visit along with his new girlfriend, Gabrielle. 24-year-old Grandma Nichol has arrived.
Episode Guide

The Outsider

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 9/2/2003
Ryan takes a job at the Crab Shack diner. A co-worker at the diner might mean bad news for the Newport kids.
Episode Guide

The Debut

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 8/26/2003
It's time for the annual Cotillion ball. Cherished by many, hated by most, it's the time when Newport's finest young ladies enter society.
Episode Guide

The Gamble

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 8/19/2003
Sandy comes to Ryan's rescue once again, after he has a difficult stay in Juvenile Hall. Seth makes Kirsten aware of his anger over Ryan's situation, and Kirsten makes a compromise.
Episode Guide

The Model Home

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 8/12/2003
Faced with the prospect of life in a group home, Ryan decides to run away from Newport, but Seth and Marissa convince him to stay and hide in a vacant building project.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 8/5/2003
A new life for Ryan Atwood, the Cohens and the Cooper families, and basically everyone else in the wealthy, picturesque, secretive, turbulent community of Orange County.