Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

Mother's Day

Season 1, Episode 23 - Air Date: 5/15/2014
From CBS: Carol has the worst Mother’s Day ever when Nathan forgets to get her a present.
Episode Guide

Sex Ed Dolan

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/8/2014
From CBS: Nathan introduces his boss, Ed Dolan, to Tom in hopes they’ll hit it off and hang out together, but surprisingly, Dolan only has eyes for Carol.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 5/1/2014
From CBS: When Tom proudly tells the family he’s dating a much younger woman, Nathan goes undercover to spy on him and make sure his father isn’t being scammed by a gold digger.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 4/24/2014
From CBS: When Nathan pitches a children’s show to his boss, Ed Dolan, based on Tom’s imaginary comic book, Tom has an adverse reaction to the tweaks made to his cherished world.
Episode Guide

Cancellation Fee

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/10/2014
From CBS: Nathan tries to date his mother’s dentist in secret after Carol adds her to the Miller Family Blacklist for charging her a $75 cancellation fee for being late to her appointment.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 4/3/2014
From CBS: Worried that his mother has made him feel like he’s better than other people, Nathan befriends a hopeless co-worker, Doug, who turns out to be a social outcast and more than Nathan knows how to handle.
Episode Guide

Plus One

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/13/2014
From CBS: Nathan’s excitement at scoring a ticket for himself and a guest to a dinner with President Obama turns to dread when he has to pick one of his family members to be his "plus one,”.
Episode Guide

Bahama Mama

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 3/6/2014
From CBS: Just as Nathan begins to unwind on his vacation in the Bahamas, Carol’s surprise appearance gets him riled up all over again until they meet Ganja Pete.
Episode Guide

You Betcha

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/27/2014
From CBS: Nathan asks Tom to spend the weekend with him in the hopes of finding something they have in common.
Episode Guide

Carol's Surprise

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/6/2014
From CBS: Nathan is determined to finally, just once, surprise the "unsurpriseable” Carol on her birthday.
Episode Guide

Driving Miss Crazy

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 1/30/2014
From CBS: When Nathan gets frustrated after he’s forced to drive Carol around town for errands once again, he demands that she either learn how to drive or find another chauffeur.
Episode Guide

Miller's Mind

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/9/2014
From CBS: Nathan learns to appreciate Carol’s incessant rants after he mimics one of them at work and is rewarded with his own news segment to complain on the air.
Episode Guide

Dear Diary

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/2/2014
From CBS: When Debbie suspects Nathan and Carol of secretly reading her diary, she and Adam plant a fake entry about Tom in order to prove it.
Episode Guide

Carol's Parents are Coming to Town

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 12/12/2013
From CBS: When Carol's overbearing mother and father announce they’re coming to visit for Christmas, Carol recruits Nate and Tom to cover up their failed relationships and present a happy facade.
Episode Guide

You're In Trouble

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 12/5/2013
From CBS: When Nathan learns why Debbie is Tom’s favorite child instead of him, he decides it’s time to fill his parents in on some of Debbie’s childhood secrets.
Episode Guide

Internet Dating

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/21/2013
From CBS: When Nathan helps Carol set up her profile on an Internet dating site, he and Ray get so excited about one of her potential suitors, they start corresponding with him, pretending to be Carol.
Episode Guide

The Talk

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/14/2013
From CBS: When Carol finds out that Tom never had "the talk” with Nathan about the birds and the bees, she insists it’s not too late to gather the family together and do it now.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 11/7/2013
From CBS: Nathan hatches a plan to get his parents back together by showing them all of their sentimental family possessions in the hopes it will make them remember the good times they’ve had.
Episode Guide

Giving the Bird

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/31/2013
From CBS: It’s Halloween, and Nathan, Debbie and Adam take Mikayla trick-or-treating to the house of an old woman who everyone in the neighborhood thinks is a witch.
Episode Guide

The Mother Is In

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/24/2013
From CBS: When Carol finds out that Nathan is seeing a therapist, she secretly makes an appointment for herself in order to find out what’s going on.
Episode Guide

The Phone Upgrade

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/17/2013
From CBS: Nathan and Debbie trade parents when they each think the other sibling has it easier.
Episode Guide

Plot Twists

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 10/10/2013
From CBS: When Carol dictates that it’s time to rearrange the family’s positions in the Millers cemetery plot because of the two divorces, Nathan needs to approach his ex-wife, Janice, to ask her to sign back her space to the family.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 10/3/2013
From CBS: Nathan and his sister, Debbie, are upset when their parents announce they’re divorcing after 43 years of marriage.