Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

The Way We Met

Season 1, Episode 25 - Air Date: 5/10/1986
One night after watching ""Psycho,"" the girls find it hard to sleep so they stay up and reminisce about how they all came to live with one another.
Episode Guide

Big Daddy

Season 1, Episode 24 - Air Date: 5/3/1986
Blanche's father, Big Daddy, comes to Miami for a visit, with an announcement, he's sold the family plantation and is setting out to become a country singer.
Episode Guide

Blind Ambitions

Season 1, Episode 23 - Air Date: 3/29/1986
Rose's sister, Lily must deal with life as a blind person after recently losing her sight. Meanwhile, the girls hold a garage sale in order to buy a new TV but find it hard to part with things.
Episode Guide

Job Hunting

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 3/8/1986
When Rose loses her job at the grief center, she begins searching for other sources of work. Meanwhile, Blanche tries to lose a few pounds and Dorothy is excited when a man she once had a crush on, contacts her and asks her out.
Episode Guide

Flu Attack

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 3/1/1986
A week before an awards ceremony, Blanche, Dorothy and Rose each come down with a nasty flu, which compounds their arguing over who will win a prestigious award.
Episode Guide

Adult Education

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 2/22/1986
Blanche's psychology professor sexually harasses her when she goes to him for help on a difficult test.
Episode Guide

Second Motherhood

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 2/15/1986
Blanche is romanced by a wealthy suitor who she learns has several small children. This fact dampens his proposal of marriage.
Episode Guide

The Operation

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 2/8/1986
Dorothy is hesitant about having foot surgery just as she was scheduled to tap dance with Blanche and Rose at a dance recital.
Episode Guide

Nice and Easy

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 2/1/1986
Blanche's visiting niece is a chip right off the old block when she dates a different man all night every night.
Episode Guide

The Truth Will Out

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 1/18/1986
Rose is apprehensive about a visit from her daughter and granddaughter, since their reason for coming is to settle Rose's late-husband's will.
Episode Guide

In a Bed of Rose's

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 1/11/1986
Late one evening, Rose brings a man home and they spend the night together. However, in the morning she finds that he has passed away.
Episode Guide

That Was No Lady

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 12/21/1985
Dorothy latest boyfriend Glen gives her a shock when he tells her that he's married. She surprises herself when she finds herself sneaking around to be with him.
Episode Guide

A Little Romance

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 12/14/1985
Rose has been dating Dr. Jonathan Newman and begins to think their relationship is leading to the alter.
Episode Guide

The Custody Battle

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 12/7/1985
Dorothy's sister, Gloria, comes to Miami for a visit and asks Sophia to come live with her in California.
Episode Guide

The Return of Dorothy's Ex

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 11/30/1985
Dorothy's ex-husband, Stan shows up to settle a piece of land they bought on their honeymoon. This leads to Dorothy and Stan spending the night together.
Episode Guide

The Heart Attack

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 11/23/1985
After a dinner party, Sophia suffers an apparent heart attack with a heavy storm delaying the paramedics.
Episode Guide

Blanche and the Younger Man

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 11/16/1985
Blanche goes all out to try to look good for her latest beau, her aerobics instructor half her age. Meanwhile, Rose's dynamic mother comes for a visit and gets fed up with Rose's ""mothering"" ways.
Episode Guide

The Break In

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/9/1985
After a Madonna concert, the girls arrive home to discover their house has been broken into. This leads the girls to seek out means to protect themselves, including a security system, guard dog and mace.
Episode Guide

The Competition

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/2/1985
In a bowling competition, it's Dorothy and Blanche verses Rose and Sophia. If Sophia and Rose win, Dorothy will allow Sophia to go back to Sicily for a visit with an old beau and if Dorothy and Blanche win Sophia will give her a pair of antique earrings.
Episode Guide

On Golden Girls

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 10/26/1985
Blanche's 14-year old grandson comes to Miami for a visit and brings a new meaning to the term ""generation gap.
Episode Guide

The Triangle

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/19/1985
A doctor Dorothy dates makes a pass at Blanche. But when Blanche tells Dorothy about it, Dorothy doesn't believe her.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/5/1985
Blanche's sister, Virginia, comes to Miami for a visit and Blanche is convinced she's after something.
Episode Guide

Rose the Prude

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 9/28/1985
Having not dated since her husband died, Rose reluctantly agrees to go on a blind date. This date turns into a serious relationship when she is invited on a cruise which would involve sharing a stateroom.
Episode Guide

Guess Who's Coming to the Wedding?

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 9/21/1985
Dorothy's daughter, Kate, comes to Miami with an announcement. She's engaged to a podiatrist named Dennis.
Episode Guide

The Engagement

Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/14/1985
In the Pilot, Sophia arrives after her retirement home burns down and Blanche prepares to get married.