Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

Let's Call It Quits

Season 1, Episode 23 - Air Date: 5/2/1989
Roseanne has difficulty accepting new rules from a tough new supervisor at the factory.
Episode Guide

Dear Mom and Dad

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 4/18/1989
An unannounced visit by Roseanne's parents has the Conner house in an uproar.
Episode Guide

Death and Stuff

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 4/11/1989
During the family's busy weekend activities, a door-to-door salesman drops by -- and then drops dead in the Conner kitchen.
Episode Guide

Toto, We're Not in Kansas Anymore

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 3/28/1989
As a tornado spins through Lanford, a storm is brewing inside the Conner house over the whereabouts of Jackie who hasn't returned from her trip to the market.
Episode Guide

Workin' Overtime

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 3/14/1989
After two weeks of overtime at work and chaos at home, Roseanne takes refuge at a diner.
Episode Guide

The Slice of Life

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 3/7/1989
Darlene's emergency appendectormy makes Roseanne anxious and guilty over having yelled at Darlene earlier.
Episode Guide

Becky's Choice

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 2/28/1989
Becky is eager for the dinner party with Chip and his parents to come to an end.
Episode Guide

Mall Story

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 2/21/1989
Roseanne takes her reluctant family on a shopping spree at the Lanford mall.
Episode Guide

Nightmare on Oak Street

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/14/1989
Darlene's bad dreams aren't due to the scary movies she's been watching.
Episode Guide

Father's Day

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/7/1989
Roseanne steps in to referee when Dan's visiting father pontificates about Dan wasting time working as a contractor.
Episode Guide

Bridge Over Troubled Sonny

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 1/31/1989
Crystal struggles to cope with the death of her husband; Darlene decides it's cool to smoke.
Episode Guide

The Monday Through Friday Show

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/24/1989
Dan and Roseanne disagree about where to spend a romantic 15th anniversary; Becky refuses to dissect a frog in biology class; Darlene finds her paper route more than she can handle.
Episode Guide

Canoga Time

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/17/1989
Dan can't bear to part with the ""junk"" Roseanne wants to donate to a rummage sale; Darlene forges a passing grade on her report card.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 1/10/1989
Roseanne bets Dan he'll never finish repairing his truck.
Episode Guide

Dan's Birthday Bash

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 1/3/1989
Dan's birthday bash at the Lobo Lounge is interrupted by a bully who picks a fight with Dan at the pool table.
Episode Guide

Here's to Good Friends

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 12/20/1988
Roseanne and Jackie help Crystal drown her sorrows over breaking up with her lover by taking her to the Lobo Lounge for a few pink squirrels and a pep talk.
Episode Guide

The Memory Game

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 12/13/1988
Roseanne discovers that Dan had a one-night stand with her high-school nemesis years ago.
Episode Guide

Lovers' Lanes

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 12/6/1988
Bowling night finds Roseanne checking out Becky's new boyfriend Chip, while Jackie and Booker make a bet with high stakes.
Episode Guide

Radio Days

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 11/29/1988
A songwriting contest unleashes creativity in Dan and Roseanne, while Booker unleashes uncontrolled impulses in Jackie.
Episode Guide

Language Lessons

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 11/22/1988
A body language test reveals Dan's innermost feelings about his sister-in-law; Darlene has a bone to pick with D.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 11/1/1988
Jackie babysits while Roseanne and Dan go out to a formal restaurant dinner -- at which they see a recently divorced friend.
Episode Guide

We're in the Money

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 10/25/1988
Although Dan and Roseanne agree not to spend any of Dan's $500 advance on themselves, neither can resist the temptation.
Episode Guide

Life and Stuff

Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 10/18/1988
Roseanne deals with complaints that her daughter Darlene barks in school.