Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

Don't Vote for This Episode

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/17/2011
The Chances reminisce about the year Jimmy turned 18 - when Maw Maw kicked them out of the house, when a goth Jimmy (a/k/a "Drakkar Noir") took up residence in the grocery store and when Burt and Virginia finally figured out how to be adults.
Episode Guide

Baby Monitor

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 5/10/2011
When Hope's baby monitor picks up their neighbors' conversations, Burt and Virginia go out of their way to meet the troubled couple (guest stars Jaime Pressly and Ethan Suplee) and try to help their marriage.
Episode Guide

Everybody Flirts ... Sometimes

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 5/3/2011
When Burt's flirtatious ways are exposed, the entire family begins to experiment with flirting. Jimmy and Sabrina compete to be Barney's favorite employee, Maw Maw gives away her treasures and Virginia is stalked by a coffee shop employee.
Episode Guide

Sleep Training

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/26/2011
When Burt is introduced to a book on sleep-training, he and Virginia decide to try it on Hope. Meanwhile, Jimmy's wild new girlfriend introduces him to a special beverage that takes him on a scary trip.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 4/19/2011
Maw Maw becomes smitten with a man she meets at Dead Tooth's daycare. Meanwhile, Jimmy takes Sabrina to visit her college boyfriend, Wyatt, whom she suspects is cheating on her.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/15/2011
When the Chance family visits a lawyer to prep their wills and assign guardianship for Hope, Burt's feelings are hurt when Jimmy chooses Sabrina over him.
Episode Guide

Cultish Personality

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 3/8/2011
Cousin Mike (guest star Stone) visits the Chance family after a six-month spiritual quest and brings his new wife, Tanya (guest star Rajskub), and his three brother-husbands (guest stars Tompkins, Avenido and Frontiero) with him.
Episode Guide

Snip Snip

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 3/1/2011
When Virginia and Sabrina discover secrets about each other, Sabrina blackmails Virginia into keeping her mouth shut.
Episode Guide

What Up, Cuz?

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/22/2011
Virginia's cousin Delilah (guest star Sedaris), who struggles to make ends meet, pays a visit to the Chance family unannounced, determined to claim her share of Maw Maw's ?
Episode Guide

A Germ of a Story

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 2/15/2011
When Sabrina points out to Jimmy just how many germs are lurking around his house, the Chance family becomes obsessed with cleanliness.
Episode Guide

Romeo and Romeo

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 2/8/2011
Jimmy hasn't had any time to socialize or make friends since Hope was born, so when he meets another single dad at the grocery store, he immediately sets up a play date.
Episode Guide

Toy Story

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 12/7/2010
When Jimmy was a kid, every year Burt would get the season's hottest toy and sell it off for money, leaving Jimmy disappointed and without the coolest toys.
Episode Guide

Burt Rocks

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 11/30/2010
Burt gave up on his teenage dreams of being a rock star because he was a parent. Jimmy feels so guilty for ruining his father's dream that he gets Burt a second chance to relive his rock fantasy with his music idol, Smokey Floyd (guest star Lee), at the upcoming Grocery-Palooza concert.
Episode Guide

Meet the Grandparents

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 11/23/2010
Instead of sleeping in and ordering pizza, per his normal Thanksgiving custom, Jimmy invites Hope's other grandparents, Dale (guest star Greg Germann) and Margine (guest star Valerie Mahaffey), to join the Chances for a more traditional holiday dinner.
Episode Guide

Blue Dots

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/16/2010
When Hope starts imitating the dogs at her day care, Jimmy decides to enroll her in an expensive, high-end center.
Episode Guide

The Sniffles

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/9/2010
When Hope catches a cold, Virginia goes into panic mode because the family doesn't have health insurance, so she locks Maw Maw in her bedroom to avoid getting sick.
Episode Guide

Family Secrets

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 11/2/2010
When a box containing videos of Hope's mother arrives from prison, Jimmy must decide whether or not to let Hope see them.
Episode Guide

Happy Halloween

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/26/2010
When Sabrina's boyfriend can't make it to the deli guy's Halloween party, Jimmy offers to put on his costume and go in his place.
Episode Guide

Say Cheese

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/12/2010
Jimmy realizes that he has no family photos that include Hope, so he organizes a family photo shoot.
Episode Guide

Dream Hoarders

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/5/2010
The family baby-proofs the house as Hope learns to crawl; Jimmy frequently visits the grocery store in hopes of seeing Sabrina.
Episode Guide

Dead Tooth

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 9/28/2010
Jimmy asks Sabrina's cousin (Kate Micucci) to baby-sit Hope so he can return to work; Burt tries to persuade Virginia to quit smoking.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/21/2010
A 23-year-old man must enlist his family to help him raise a baby that is the result of a one-night stand with a wanted felon.