Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

Never Before Seen

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 7/20/2007
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 7/20/2007
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 7/20/2007
Bear Grylls shows how to navigate the Cairngorms region in extreme weather using ice formations and moss growth, and how to test snow slopes for avalanche potential.
Episode Guide

Kimberly, Australia

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 7/13/2007
Bear paraglides onto the edge of the Andes and follows rivers into the Ecuadorian jungle, observing huge colonies of spear-nosed bats, giant weevil grubs and piranhas.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 7/6/2007
In the Kimberly region of Australia, an area with a mixture of huge scrub deserts, dry riverbeds and red sandstone cliffs full of deep gorges, Bear faces extreme heat, poisonous snakes and the ever present danger of dehydration.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 6/29/2007
In Mexico, Bear must find his way out of Copper Canyon, and his only supplies are a water bottle, a flint and a knife.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 6/22/2007
Bear parachutes into the extreme landscape of Iceland, the site of vicious blizzard, 50 mph (80 km/h) winds, icy glacial waters, boiling hot mud and volcanic springs.
Episode Guide

Hawaii - Desert Island

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 6/15/2007
Stranded on a desert island may seem like paradise, but Bear shows you that it really isn’t. He parachutes onto one of Hawaii’s uninhabited islands with only a canteen and a knife to help him survive.
Episode Guide

Alaskan Mountain Range

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 12/29/2006
The Alps are Europe’s greatest mountain range and one of the most visited. Every year hundreds die here not knowing how to survive in the harsh climate.
Episode Guide

African Savannah

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 12/22/2006
Kenya, where you are lunch to most of the animals in the world. Bear leaves the safety of his hot air balloon to show a regular person how to survive in this place.
Episode Guide

Sierra Nevada

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 12/15/2006
Of the millions of hikers that visit the Sierra Nevada mountain range, hundreds become stranded there each year.
Episode Guide

Hawaii - Mount Kilauea

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 12/8/2006
Bear head to the big Island of Hawaii where he lands on Mount Kilauea, the world’s most active volcano.
Episode Guide

European Alps

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 12/1/2006
Bear sets up this survival as if he were a lost skier with a knife, a flint, a canteen and his skies and poles.
Episode Guide

Costa Rican Rainforest

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 11/24/2006
Bear takes on the rainforest of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula where every year dozens of lost visitors are rescued by the Red Cross.
Episode Guide

Moab Desert, Utah

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 11/17/2006
Bear Grylls battles the extreme heat and deadly predators as he strands himself in Moab, Utah, one of the top extreme sports destinations in the US.
Episode Guide

The Rockies

Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 11/10/2006
Bear parachutes into the Rockies with no knife and no flint, just the clothes on his back and his bag.
Episode Guide

The Rockies

Season 1, Episode 0 - Air Date: 10/27/2006
Edward 'Bear' Grylls gets dropped in the middle of the Rocky Mountains and must find his way back to civilisation.