Season 5 Episodes

Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 23 - Air Date: 5/24/1995
A gay city councilman is murdered and the trail leads to a bigoted rival politician and a male prostitute.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/17/1995
Suspects in a psychiatrist's murder include the victim's ex-husband, a patient suffering from multiple-personality disorder and her obstructive father.
Episode Guide

Purple Heart

Season 5, Episode 21 - Air Date: 5/3/1995
The investigation into a taxi driver's murder involves a loan shark, a forged check, a missing plumber and the victim's wife.
Episode Guide

Bad Faith

Season 5, Episode 20 - Air Date: 4/26/1995
Logan relives unhappy childhood memories when a friend is found dead.
Episode Guide

Cruel and Unusual

Season 5, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/19/1995
The death of an autistic youth in custody reveals a multitude of unusual and possibly illegal therapies being used, but also parents reluctant to pursue a prosecution.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 18 - Air Date: 4/5/1995
The investigation into a double murder leads to a young alcoholic whose family once lived in the victims' house and who admitted to his AA group that he had nightmares about the killings.
Episode Guide

Act of God

Season 5, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/22/1995
A bomb at a construction site kills a 12-year-old boy, and the suspects include the bankrupt contractor and a jealous husband.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 16 - Air Date: 3/15/1995
The shooting of a board member of an exclusive private school leads to a blue-collar family and a classist system.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/15/1995
A routine investigation into a woman's death leads Briscoe and Logan to a fertility doctor guilty of unethical practices, but who apparently cannot be touched because of confidentiality rules, and patient reluctance to talk.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/8/1995
Briscoe and Logan set out to identify the apparent victim in a snuff film, but find her alive and really the victim of a points-for-sex club at her prestigious high school.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 13 - Air Date: 2/1/1995
A Wall Street broker accused of murdering his mentor uses the defense of "black rage" in court.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/25/1995
After the murder of an abortion clinic doctor, Briscoe and Logan are led to a suspect who belongs to a radical pro-life movement and their suspicion soon turns to the group's leader.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/11/1995
After the body of a young female junkie is identified as the daughter of a wealthy family, Briscoe and Logan try to find out who left her to die in the yard of a day-care center.
Episode Guide

House Counsel

Season 5, Episode 10 - Air Date: 1/4/1995
The killing of a man who had served as a juror in a mob trial leads to a battle of wills between McCoy and his long-time friend, the suspect's attorney.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 9 - Air Date: 11/30/1994
Among the suspects in a lawyer's murder are a swindler, who conned a woman out of her family fortune, and the woman's once-wealthy son.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/23/1994
McCoy uses a charge of "larceny by extortion" against a councilman, whose former colleague claims he demanded sex in exchange for a law-firm partnership.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/9/1994
When Briscoe and Logan suspect that a missing infant may have been murdered by her parents rather than kidnapped, they uncover a terrible family secret which hides a mentally ill serial killer.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 6 - Air Date: 11/2/1994
When Lt. Van Buren is the victim of an attempted holdup by two teens, she fires her gun and kills one of them, and the detectives are faced with the fact that she shot an unarmed child in the back.
Episode Guide

White Rabbit

Season 5, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/19/1994
A routine investigation uncovers evidence that leads Briscoe and Logan to a long-time fugitive, a radical Vietnam War opponent on the run since a 1971 burglary that left a policeman dead.
Episode Guide

Family Values

Season 5, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/12/1994
After it's determined that a wealthy woman did not commit suicide but was murdered, the detectives question both her first and second husbands and her teenage daughter.
Episode Guide

Blue Bamboo

Season 5, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/5/1994
The killing of a Japanese nightclub owner who was visiting New York leads to the arrest of a singer who once worked for the deceased, and whose lawyer uses the "battered-woman syndrome" as a defense.
Episode Guide


Season 5, Episode 2 - Air Date: 9/28/1994
A comedy-club owner comes under suspicion for having shot his wife, now comatose with a bullet in her head, after it's discovered he was abusive and she was about to divorce him.
Episode Guide

Second Opinion

Season 5, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/21/1994
A woman's death exposes an unorthodox method of treating cancer that Executive Assistant DA McCoy intends to prove is negligent homicide.