Warwick Davis


Date Of Birth

February 3, 1970


Warwick Davis got his break when his grandmother told him of a casting call looking for people under four feet. Davis, who suffered from a rare kind of dwarfism, immediately auditioned -- he was a Star Wars fan, and the role was for the franchise's third installment (and sixth episode). He eventually was given the role of the Ewok Wicket.

George Lucas later gave Davis his own film: the result was the fantasy film Willow, released in 1988. Davis' later roles mostly took advantage of his short height, notably the Leprechaun series, The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian, and the Harry Potter films, where he played professor Filius Flitwick. He returned to the Star Wars franchise in 1998, playing three roles in The Phantom Menace.

Davis also cofounded Willow Management, which specializes in giving roles to short actors like him. He also wrote his autobiography, Size Matters Not, published in 2010. He currently stars in the BBC comedy Life's Too Short, where he plays a fictionalized version of himself alongside the show's co-creators Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant.

Place of Birth

Epsom, Surrey, England

Birth Name

Warwick Ashley Davis



Fun Facts

- Davis' role in The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is unseen but critical: he provided the body movements to Marvin the Robot, which was voiced by fellow Harry Potter star Alan Rickman.




- Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi (1983)
- Labyrinth (1986)
- Willow (1988)
- The Princess and the Dwarf (1989)
- Leprechaun (1993)
- Leprechaun 2 (1994)
- Prince Valiant (1997)
- A Very Unlucky Leprechaun (1998)
- Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace (1999)
- The New Adventures of Pinocchio (1999)
- The White Pony (1999)
- Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (2001)
- Capone's Boys (2002)
- Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002)
- Skinned Deep (2004)
- Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)
- Ray (2004)
- The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (2005)
- Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005)
- Small Town Folk (2007)
- Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007)
- Agent One-Half (2008)
- The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008)
- Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009)
- Tell Him Next Year (2010)
- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (2010)
- Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 (2011)

- Prince Caspian and the Voyage of the Dawn Treader (recurring, 1989)
- Life's Too Short (regular, 2011-present)







Give a Positive or Negative Rating