Olivia Williams


Date Of Birth

July 26, 1968


British actress Olivia Williams has had a career spanning film, stage and television. She was born on July 26, 1968 in Camden Town, London, England to parents who were both barristers. Olivia obtained her degree in English literature from Newnham College, Cambridge, and she later studied drama at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School for two years. Upon graduation, she worked with the Royal Shakespeare Company and soon toured the United States in a production of Shakespeare’s Richard III with Ian McKellen.

In 1996, Olivia Williams appeared on the British TV film Emma, based on the novel by Jane Austen. The next year, Williams made her cinema debut in the film test The Postman, after doing a screen test with Kevin Costner. Later, she beat four well-known actresses for the part of Rosemary Cross in Wes Anderson’s Rushmore. In 1999, she played Bruce Willis’ wife on the blockbuster hit The Sixth Sense.

Since then, Olivia Williams built up her career by appearing on several independent features, which were mostly British productions. These include Lucky Break in 2001 and The Heart of Me in 2002. For the latter, she won the British Independent Film Award for Best Actress. Later on, she was cast as Mrs. Darling in the 2003 film adaptation of Peter Pan. At that time, she was cast as the title character in Agatha Christie: A Life in Pictures, portraying the novelist herself. This was followed by voice work in Valiant, then parts in Tara Road, Mockingbird, and Krakatoa: The Last Days. She soon received an uncredited role in X-Men: The Last Stand, as the character Dr. Moira MacTaggart. In 2007, Williams got a role on Damage, and followed it up with performances on Broken Lines and Flashbacks of a Fool. In 2008, she was cast as Jane Austen in a TV production titled Miss Austen Regrets. That year, Williams was chosen to portray Adelle DeWitt in the Joss Whedon series Dollhouse, which aired on Fox in 2009. Later she played Charlie Zailer on the TV series Case Sensitive and appeared in films like The Ghost, Collaborator, Wild Bill, Hyde Park on Hudson, Anna Karenina, The Last Days on Mars and Maps to the Stars. At present, she is part of the WGN series Manhattan.

Place of Birth

Camden Town, London, England, UK

Birth Name

Olivia Haigh Williams




2009: British Independent Film Award for Best Actress - An Education
2010: London Film Critics Circle Award for British Supporting Actress of the Year - The Ghost Writer
2010: National Society of Film Critics Award for Best Supporting Actress - The Ghost Writer


2014 Manhattan (TV Series)
2014 Altar
2014 Magpie (Short)
2014 Maps to the Stars
2014 Salting the Battlefield (TV Movie)
2014/I Sabotage
2013 Justin and the Knights of Valour
2013/III The Guest (Short)
2013 The Last Days on Mars
2012 Electric Cinema: How to Behave (Short)
2012/I Anna Karenina
2012 Hyde Park on Hudson
2012 Now Is Good
2011-2012 Case Sensitive (TV Series)
2012 Playhouse Presents (TV Series)
2011 Eats Shoots and Leaves (Short)
2011 Wild Bill
2011 Collaborator
2011 Hanna
2010 Terriers (TV Series)
2010 The Ghost
2009-2010 Dollhouse (TV Series)
2010 Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll
2009 An Education
2008 Broken Lines
2008 Flashbacks of a Fool
2008 Miss Austen Regrets (TV Movie)
2007 Damage (TV Movie)
2006 X-Men: The Last Stand
2006 Krakatoa: Volcano of Destruction (TV Movie)
2005 Tara Road
2005 Mockingbird (Short)
2005 Valiant
2004 Agatha Christie: A Life in Pictures (TV Movie)
2003 Peter Pan
2003 To Kill a King
2002 Below
2002 The Heart of Me
2001 The Man from Elysian Fields
2001 Lucky Break
2001 Spaced (TV Series)
2001 The Body
2000 Born Romantic
2000 Dead Babies
2000 Four Dogs Playing Poker
2000 Jason and the Argonauts (TV Movie)
1999 The Sixth Sense
1998 Friends (TV Series)
1998 Rushmore
1997 The Postman
1997 Gaston's War
1996 Emma (TV Movie)
1996 Beck (TV Series)
1992 Ruth Rendell Mysteries (TV Series)
1992 Van der Valk (TV Series)

Give a Positive or Negative Rating

Assign Points 0pts