Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/14/2001
Toni remains in a state of despair over her split with Greg, while a guilt-ridden Joan continues to keep her involvement in the break-up a secret.
Episode Guide

Loose Lips Sink Relationships

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 5/7/2001
After Toni accepts Clay's marriage proposal, a disapproving Joan advises her to look into her heart, as she believes that Greg is the one she really loves.
Episode Guide

The Burning Vagina Monologues

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 4/30/2001
Toni cheats on Greg with Clay and winds up contracting chylamdia. Joan frets about the fact that Sean has yet to tell her that he loves her, especially after he reveals that he has been offered a six-month job in New York.
Episode Guide

A Kiss Before Lying

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/16/2001
Sean grows uncomfortable with Joan's relationship with Davis, as he feels that she flirts with him too much.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 3/12/2001
Maya checks into the hospital to undergo surgery for the removal of a fibroid tumor. Joan's friends (especially Lynn) question her priorities when she decides to leave Maya's bedside to attend an important business dinner with Sean.
Episode Guide

The Declaration of Lynndependence

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/5/2001
After discovering that Lynn has applied for yet another grad school program, Joan and Toni determine that they must end their financial support and force her to get a job and go out into the real world.
Episode Guide

Friends, Colleagues, Brothers

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 2/26/2001
Joan becomes fed up with the ""boys' club"" mentality at work, as her opinions are ignored and she is passed over for important cases.
Episode Guide

Old Dog

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/19/2001
Joan decides to waive her ""three-month rule"" and sleep with Sean, but finds that the results are extremely disappointing.
Episode Guide

Bad Timing

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/12/2001
Joan is upset when Sean must go out of town for Valentine's Day. Her frustration grows when she is unable to get in touch with him.
Episode Guide

They've Gotta Have It

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 2/5/2001
Joan grows impatient with Sean, who refuses to kiss or touch her. After discussing a number of possible explanations with her friends, she finally pushes Sean for the reason behind his cold behavior.
Episode Guide

The List

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/15/2001
The girls and William make lists of the qualities they want in their ideal partners. When everyone goes to an art gallery, Joan is amazed to find a man who meets all of her qualifications, but her friends later warn her that she may have frightened him with her aggressiveness.
Episode Guide

The Importance of Being Frank

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 12/11/2000
Joan begins dating a client, Frank Anderson. Everything seems to be going well until a crazed woman shows up at the office looking for Joan.
Episode Guide

Never a Bridesmaid

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 11/27/2000
Maya and Darnell plan to renew their wedding vows, and Joan agrees to hold the event at her house. However, Joan constantly disagrees with Maya's choices and tries to mold the event into her own dream wedding.
Episode Guide

Fried Turkey

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 11/20/2000
Joan finds herself alone on Thanksgiving after everyone makes other plans for the holiday. After dining at 847, she meets Davis's friend Preston Hall, a handsome and highly successful attorney.
Episode Guide

Pregnant Pause

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/13/2000
Joan turns to her friends for support when she fears that she might be pregnant. When a test turns out positive, she tries to cope with her fears about impending motherhood.
Episode Guide

Everything Fishy Ain't Fish

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/6/2000
Joan sees Maya's husband, Darnell, in a possibly compromising situation with another woman. Her gut tells her that something may be going on, but she agonizes over whether to share this information with Maya.
Episode Guide

The Remains of the Date

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 10/30/2000
Joan plans an elaborate scheme to get revenge on William for the latest in a series of Halloween pranks.
Episode Guide

I Pity the Fool

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/9/2000
Joan grows tired of the clingy Marcus and plans to break up with him, but only winds up complicating the situation by having ""pity sex"" with him.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/2/2000
Joan, Toni and Lynn set up dates with men they met over the Internet. Lynn's guy never shows up (his parole was denied), while Toni rejects hers because his skin is too dark.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 9/25/2000
Toni and Maya get into another argument before an evening out, in part because Toni refuses to believe that Maya can get the girls into an exclusive club.
Episode Guide

One Night Stand?

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 9/18/2000
After Joan reveals that she hasn't had sex in a year, her friends push her to go for a one-night stand.
Episode Guide

Toe Sucking

Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/11/2000
Joan Clayton, a successful attorney, prepares to celebrate her 29th birthday (although she claims to be 26 to make her achievements seem more impressive).