Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

Why Are We Here?

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 4/7/1997
In this flashback episode, Ray and Debra remember their days in their first apartment. Debra finds out she's having twins, and so they decide they need a house.
Episode Guide

Fascinatin' Debra

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 3/17/1997
A popular radio psychologist comes to the house to interview Debra for a book on the American family.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 3/10/1997
Irate neighbors are seriously up in arms over Ray's noisy dad and meddling mom so they demand a powwow at Ray's house, where his parents stumble upon the raucous caucus.
Episode Guide

The Dog

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 3/3/1997
Ray brings home a stray bulldog that reminds him of the dog he had to give up as a boy due to his allergies, but his brother, Robert, bonds with the animal and the siblings then have to decide who gets to keep him.
Episode Guide

Recovering Pessimist

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 2/28/1997
When Debra tries to change Ray's pessimistic attitude about winning the ""Sports Writer of the Year Award,"" he agrees to change his ways and become more upbeat - - and suffers the downside of being the only optimist in his family.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 2/21/1997
When Ray and his family play a game of ""Scruples"" after their cable goes out and they have nothing but time on their hands, they find themselves arguing about honesty.
Episode Guide

The Game

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 2/7/1997
Ray finds out that the diamond on Debra's engagement ring is a fake, so he steals it from her to get it changed, only to find out after that she already had it changed.
Episode Guide

The Car

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 1/31/1997
Debra, already annoyed at getting stuck driving the old car Ray bought from his parents, really gets upset when she discovers that it was his old ""make-out-mobile.
Episode Guide

Who's Handsome?

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 1/17/1997
Raymond can't face the fact that everybody thinks that his brother Robert is ""classically handsome,"" while he is merely ""adorable like a hamster.
Episode Guide

The Ball

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 1/3/1997
When Debra comes down with the flu and is bedridden, inexperienced Raymond must take care of her and the three kids.
Episode Guide

Debra's Sick

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 12/20/1996
Ray discovers, after many years, that the autographed Mickey Mantle ball he got as a kid from his father isn't authentic.
Episode Guide

Turkey or Fish

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 12/13/1996
When Ray's ""free"" time goes to coaching his basketball team in preparation for the Pizza League championships, he is reminded by Debra that their kids are growing up fast and he's missing precious time with them.
Episode Guide

Captain Nemo

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 11/22/1996
Although Marie has always cooked the traditional turkey dinner for Thanksgiving, Debra decides it's her turn to prepare the holiday meal, but, not wanting to compete with Marie's turkey, she chooses to serve fish which upsets the apple cart.
Episode Guide

Win, Lose or Draw

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 11/8/1996
Ray gets tired of being treated like a kid at his father's poker game, so he ignores his father's advice and ends up losing all his money.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/1/1996
When Ray's upper class in-laws come for a visit, he begs his parents to be nice to them and accept their differences even though their lifestyles are worlds apart.
Episode Guide

Your Place or Mine?

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 10/28/1996
Marie gets fed up with Frank after 40 years of marriage and moves in with Ray and Debra. Ray and Robert enjoy being mothered by Marie, and Debra spends quality time with Frank.
Episode Guide

Look Don't Touch

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 10/18/1996
When Frank gets a few anecdotes published in Reader's Digest, he submits his writing samples to Ray's editor, hoping to get his own column in the newspaper.
Episode Guide

Standard Deviation

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/11/1996
Nemo's niece, Angelina, takes employment at Nemo's as a waitress at Nemo's. When Angelina catches Ray's eye, he has a lot of explaining to do to his wife, Debra especially when Angelina calls him at home.
Episode Guide

I Wish I Were Gus

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/4/1996
For a criminal-psychology course, Robert issues standard IQ tests to Raymond and Debra and boy, is Raymond smarting when they get the results.
Episode Guide

Frank, the Writer

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 9/27/1996
It seems ""even dead people love Raymond,"" as reticent Ray learns when he's chosen to deliver the eulogy at his great uncle's funeral.
Episode Guide

I Love You

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 9/20/1996
When newlywed friends make a public display of their affection, Debra wonders why reticent Raymond has trouble saying those three little words.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/13/1996
Debra is sick and tired of having Raymond's parents and his brother show up unannounced. With her birthday coming up they try not to get his parents and brother to come over.