Season 3 Episodes

Episode Guide

One More for the Road

Season 3, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/15/1997
Mark, still recovering from the attack, vents his emotions in a violent fit in the break room and buys a gun for protection.
Episode Guide

Make a Wish

Season 3, Episode 21 - Air Date: 5/8/1997
Mark returns to work, scarred both physically and emotionally. Carla goes in labor again, four weeks prematurely, and delivers a baby boy.
Episode Guide

Random Acts

Season 3, Episode 20 - Air Date: 5/1/1997
The staff springs into action when Dr. Greene is violently beaten by an unknown assailant. Dr. Ross treats the son of a wealthy man, leading Carol to suspect Doug of giving the child special treatment.
Episode Guide

Calling Dr. Hathaway

Season 3, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/24/1997
Carol finds herself at a career crossroads when her MCAT results come back. She's torn between nursing and becoming a doctor, with Kerry grooming her for medicine, while Carol tries to care for a mother with a dying child.
Episode Guide

You Bet Your Life

Season 3, Episode 18 - Air Date: 4/17/1997
Carter goes behind Anspaugh's back to get a gambler admitted for surgery, earning Anspaugh and Hicks' wrath and jeopardizing his residency.
Episode Guide


Season 3, Episode 17 - Air Date: 4/10/1997
Mark examines his prejudices when he's accused of neglecting a black gunshot victim, Kenny Law, in favor of a white victim.
Episode Guide


Season 3, Episode 16 - Air Date: 2/20/1997
Dr. Greene tries to get a congestive heart failure patient with Down's Syndrome onto a heart transplant list.
Episode Guide

The Long Way Around

Season 3, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/13/1997
Carol is held hostage in a bungled convenience store robbery. Her medical skills are put to their toughest test as she works feverishly to save the gravely wounded store owner.
Episode Guide

Who's Appy Now?

Season 3, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/6/1997
A gleeful Carter removes Benton's appendix. Dr. Ross treats a 17-year-old cystic fibrosis patient who wants to die, but isn't old enough to sign a DNR.
Episode Guide

Fortune's Fools

Season 3, Episode 13 - Air Date: 1/30/1997
Carol takes an interest in an ailing police sergeant who's hiding a degenerative ailment. She also meets with a newspaper reporter to air the complete story on her fatal mistake and is subsequently suspended.
Episode Guide

Post Mortem

Season 3, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/23/1997
Carter blames Benton for Gant's death. An overmatched Carol makes a fatal mistake when the nursing staff is on a sick out.
Episode Guide

Night Shift

Season 3, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/16/1997
A long, cold night finds ER staffers with hours of time to kill. Kerry recruits staffers to participate in a study on sleep deprivation combined with physical activity.
Episode Guide

Homeless for the Holidays

Season 3, Episode 10 - Air Date: 12/19/1996
Rumors sweep the ER when Kerry and Mark cloister themselves to discuss policy regarding HIV-positive employees, prompting Jeanie to publicize her illness.
Episode Guide

Ask Me No Questions, I'll Tell You No Lies

Season 3, Episode 9 - Air Date: 12/12/1996
Mark, still reeling from Susan's departure, crosses ethical lines to obtain Jeanie's confidential files after learning Al is HIV-positive.
Episode Guide

Union Station

Season 3, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/21/1996
Susan's last day in the ER finds Mark unsure of himself. Despite Doug's urgings, Mark still finds himself afraid to admit his feelings for her.
Episode Guide

No Brain, No Gain

Season 3, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/14/1996
Benton fights to save the life of a gangbanger already declared dead by Doug. Nurse Rhonda Sterling floats down to the ER again and makes another critical mistake.
Episode Guide

Fear of Flying

Season 3, Episode 6 - Air Date: 11/7/1996
Mark and Susan take to the air for helicopter flight rotation, which brings to the ER an entire family injured in an accident.
Episode Guide


Season 3, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/31/1996
Doug and Carol man the Healthmobile, a roving medical van that caters to the homeless. Benton tries to be more warm and friendly towards children, even taking a group of hospitalized youngsters trick-or-treating.
Episode Guide

Last Call

Season 3, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/17/1996
Dr. Ross brings a one-night-stand into the hospital when she has an epileptic seizure, earning him the stares of his colleagues when he can't remember her name.
Episode Guide

Don't Ask, Don't Tell

Season 3, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/10/1996
Mark is befuddled by an invitation from Susan to go on a joint vacation to Hawaii. The ER is filled with more refugees from South Side, Drs.
Episode Guide

Let the Games Begin

Season 3, Episode 2 - Air Date: 10/3/1996
Jeanie begins to realize the burden of living an HIV-positive life when bills start mounting up and Benton throws her out of a trauma.
Episode Guide

Dr. Carter, I Presume

Season 3, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/26/1996
Carter begins the first day of his internship with the difficult task of filling in for Benton as the ER surgery consult.