Season 2 Episodes

Episode Guide

John Carter, M.D.

Season 2, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/16/1996
Carol is pushed to the breaking point after another day when politics triumph over health care, and she quits.
Episode Guide

Take These Broken Wings

Season 2, Episode 21 - Air Date: 5/9/1996
Susan visits a psychiatrist to cope with the loss of Little Susie. Jeanie's estranged husband Al checks in the ER complaining of flu-like symptoms, which turn out to be caused by HIV.
Episode Guide

Fevers of Unknown Origin

Season 2, Episode 20 - Air Date: 5/2/1996
Susan throws herself into her work to escape her stressful personal life, earning recognition from Kerry and Mark, who begins preliminary discussions on next year's chief resident.
Episode Guide

Fire in the Belly

Season 2, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/25/1996
Carter engages in competition with new surgical resident-in-training Dale Edson upon learning that residents will be evaluated and graded; only the top ones advancing to second year.
Episode Guide

A Shift in the Night

Season 2, Episode 18 - Air Date: 4/4/1996
Mark finds himself manning a very crowded ER on his scheduled night off, filling in while Doug is out with whiplash and Susan meets with her lawyer.
Episode Guide

The Match Game

Season 2, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/28/1996
Susan institutes extra precautions in case Chloe tries to reclaim Little Susie. Mark changes his look, growing a goatee and wearing contact lenses.
Episode Guide

The Healers

Season 2, Episode 16 - Air Date: 2/22/1996
Shep and Raul respond to a massive fire without proper equipment, risking their lives to save addicts and their children.
Episode Guide

Baby Shower

Season 2, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/15/1996
The ER hosts roughly a dozen pregnant women when a sprinkler bursts in the maternity ward. Carter plays tour guide for the visiting surgical intern hopefuls before going through the interview himself.
Episode Guide

The Right Thing

Season 2, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/8/1996
Benton decides to blow the whistle on Vucelich's unethical study methods, causing Vucelich to drop him from the study.
Episode Guide

It's Not Easy Being Greene

Season 2, Episode 13 - Air Date: 2/1/1996
Mark is riddled with self doubt as the hospital prepares to settle the O'Brien suit. Kerry appoints herself as Susan's personal mentor.
Episode Guide

True Lies

Season 2, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/25/1996
Mark tries to find a way to tell Rachel about his impending divorce. Benton attends a banquet at Vucelich's home, with Jeanie as his date.
Episode Guide

Dead of Winter

Season 2, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/4/1996
Shep and Raul bring a dozen malnourished and abandoned children into the ER, keeping everyone very busy.
Episode Guide

A Miracle Happens Here

Season 2, Episode 10 - Air Date: 12/14/1995
The ER staffers are in decidedly unfestive moods as Christmas arrives. Carol's spirits are lifted by a Santa-like patient.
Episode Guide


Season 2, Episode 9 - Air Date: 12/7/1995
Carol and Jeanie try to find a home for a schizophrenic architect. Carter signs Benton up for an interview with Vucelich for a prestigious study.
Episode Guide

The Secret Sharer

Season 2, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/16/1995
Doug's heroics earn him a second chance as Bernstein and Morganstern ask him to stay on. Doug and Mark clash when each treats a seriously injured patient and want to use the same equipment.
Episode Guide

Hell and High Water

Season 2, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/9/1995
In the middle of a torrential rainstorm, Dr. Ross stumbles across a child trapped in a drainage pipe rapidly filling with water.
Episode Guide

Days Like This

Season 2, Episode 6 - Air Date: 11/2/1995
Speculation runs through the ER, on a very hectic day, about Randi's possible criminal history. Mark faces an ethical dilemma when he has to decide whether to report yet another of Doug Ross's indiscretions--Doug slept with med student Harper Tracy.
Episode Guide

And Baby Makes Two

Season 2, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/19/1995
Dr. Ross treats the dying Chia-Chia. Susan tries to find a way to keep Little Susie, asking her parents for help.
Episode Guide

What Life?

Season 2, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/12/1995
Weaver and Susan's feud escalates to the point where Mark needs to step in and fix it. Benton is involved in a parking lot altercation, resulting in a broken hand and Carter replacing him in surgery.
Episode Guide

Do One, Teach One, Kill One

Season 2, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/5/1995
Carter gets his first patient...and loses him. Susan's feud with Kerry Weaver intensifies when Weaver demands all of Susan's procedures be cleared with her.
Episode Guide

Summer Run

Season 2, Episode 2 - Air Date: 9/28/1995
Kerry Weaver manages to offend just about everyone in her first day as chief resident. Carol goes on a ride-along with paramedics Shep and Raul, sharing a ferris wheel ride with Shep.
Episode Guide

Welcome Back, Carter!

Season 2, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/21/1995
The ER treats victims of a gang shootout. Carter arrives late and unprepared for his new position. Mark learns all about being an attending, including senior staff's habit of bad-mouthing the residents, particularly Doug Ross.