Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

Everything Old Is New Again

Season 1, Episode 26 - Air Date: 5/18/1995
Carter faces his last day in the hospital with aplomb, harshly grading Benton on an evaluation report.
Episode Guide

Everything Old Is New Again

Season 1, Episode 25 - Air Date: 5/18/1995
Susan is forced into the role of parent when Chloe gives birth and both Chloe and her mother, Cookie, shirk responsibility.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 24 - Air Date: 5/11/1995
Mark and Jennifer struggle to remain together as Mark has moved in with her in Milwaukee. Doug coaches Jake's little league team.
Episode Guide

Love Among the Ruins

Season 1, Episode 23 - Air Date: 5/4/1995
Susan has her hands full with a pregnant Chloe. Benton goes to dinner with Jeanie. Greene further alienates Swift when he decides to honor a family commitment rather than stay longer at the ER to help him.
Episode Guide

Men Plan, God Laughs

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 4/27/1995
Deb and Carter compete furiously for procedures after Benton announces their books are due a week earlier than previously announced.
Episode Guide

House of Cards

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 4/6/1995
Mark, still upset over the loss of Jodi O'Brien, takes the night off but ends up in the ER anyway, albeit an hour late, when the new chief runs a drill at 2:00 a.
Episode Guide

Full Moon, Saturday Night

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 3/30/1995
Mark realizes he missed a diagnosis on a pregnant woman when she seizes outside, moments after leaving the ER.
Episode Guide

Love's Labor Lost

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 3/9/1995
Peter refuses to sleep, despite Hicks' order, in the middle of a 48-hour shift. His lack of sleep catches up with him when he is supposed to be watching his mother.
Episode Guide

Sleepless in Chicago

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 2/23/1995
Dr. Hicks berates Benton when he tries to switch shifts to attend his mother's birthday party. A teenage girl, a frequent patient of the ER, is brought in for a drug overdose.
Episode Guide

Make of Two Hearts

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 2/16/1995
Carol worries about a Russian girl with AIDS who's brought in and then abandoned by her foster mother.
Episode Guide

Make of Two Hearts

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 2/9/1995
Morganstern invites Mark to join the staff as an attending physician. Mark treats an woman with breast cancer, who begs him to kill her.
Episode Guide

February Fifth, 1995

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/2/1995
A case of apparent spousal abuse is not what it seems. Deb outshines Carter after he is up all night preparing for a presentation.
Episode Guide

Long Day's Journey

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 1/19/1995
Carter trains one of Benton's new students, Deb Chen. athaway has her hands full with an emotionally challenged patient who's obsessed with colors.
Episode Guide

Luck of the Draw

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 1/12/1995
Carter fumbles his way through his first look at surgery. Dr. Lewis' nemesis, Dr. Kayson, makes her New Year's Day decidedly unpleasant.
Episode Guide

Happy New Year

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/5/1995
Benton makes a critical error when he publicizes the availability of a dying man's organs before obtaining the wife's permission.
Episode Guide

The Gift

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 12/15/1994
A severe blizzard leaves the ER utterly devoid of patients, leaving the staff free to goof off. In the middle of their fun, a call comes from dispatch, informing the ER of a 40-car pile-up with dozens of casualties.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 12/8/1994
Carter and Benton treat a suicidal transvestite. Doug feels like a 'kept man' in his relationship with Linda Farrell.
Episode Guide

ER Confidential

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 11/17/1994
Hathaway treats a rape victim. Walt brings Benton's mother to the ER with a sprained ankle. Carter shows his annoyance toward Benton and his stand-offish attitude.
Episode Guide

9 1/2 Hours (AKA Growing Up)

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/10/1994
Benton and Langworthy interview for the Starzl fellowship. A drunk Chloe throws a tantrum in the hospital.
Episode Guide

Another Perfect Day

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/3/1994
Ross and Hathaway give in to their feelings, Benton fights for a prestigious fellowship, and Greene gives Carter a boost.
Episode Guide

Chicago Heat

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 10/20/1994
A business contractor with a bad heart gathers his family around him in the ER as he prepares for the end.
Episode Guide

Into That Good Night

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/13/1994
Carter has a difficult day when he has to identify a dead teenager and notify his parents. It doesn't help that he notifies the wrong family.
Episode Guide

Hit and Run

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/6/1994
Carol returns after her eight week absence, finding Doug holding himself responsible. Carter finds himself watching over a mysterious, mentally ill singing woman.
Episode Guide

Going Home

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 9/29/1994
Dr. Lewis tries to get a mentally disturbed individual admitted to the psych ward. Carter has a difficult day, treating many members of wedding party, suffering from food poisoning.
Episode Guide

Day One

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 9/22/1994
The long day continues for the ER staff. Dr. Benton operates on a patient with an aortic aneuryism, a procedure normally performed by senior staff.
Episode Guide

24 Hours

Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/19/1994
A day's worth of trauma takes its toll on the men and women of the ER. Dr. Greene looks into leaving the ER and joining private practice.