Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

Pops' Pops' Pops

Season 1, Episode 24 - Air Date: 5/20/2015
From ABC: Jack and Diane look for clues about their roots for their class assignment, a history of the Johnson family.
Episode Guide

Elephant in the Room

Season 1, Episode 23 - Air Date: 5/13/2015
From ABC: Liberals Dre and Bow go ballistic when Junior declares he’s joined the Young Republican Club to impress a girl (ironically named Hillary).
Episode Guide

Please Don’t Ask, Please Don’t Tell

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/6/2015
From ABC: Dre's sister, Rhonda, is in town for Mother's Day and although she hasn't come out to the family, everyone knows she’s gay – except Ruby — and Bow thinks Dre should tell her the truth.
Episode Guide

The Peer-ent Trap

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 4/29/2015
From ABC: When teenager Zoey goes through a mini-rebellion phase by pushing boundaries and acting out, Dre wants to lay down the law, while Bow insists on a softer approach like her mom did with her.
Episode Guide

Switch Hitting

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 4/22/2015
From ABC: Dre finds himself questioning his "blackness."
Episode Guide

The Real World

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/8/2015
From ABC: When Bow reconnects with her college friends on Facebook, she invites them over for an elaborate dinner party and tries to impress them.
Episode Guide

Sex, Lies and Vasectomies

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 4/1/2015
From ABC: Bow learns from her colleague that Dre never had the vasectomy a few years back that he was supposedly scheduled, so she decides to see if he'll come clean and tell the truth.
Episode Guide

30 Something

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/25/2015
From ABC: Things begin to fall apart, in more ways than one, when Dre hurts himself playing basketball right before his 40th birthday.
Episode Guide

Parental Guidance

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 3/4/2015
From ABC: Dre, determined to make up for the no-frills, last-minute wedding he and Bow had, organizes an amazing vow renewal for their 15th anniversary.
Episode Guide

The Dozens

Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/25/2015
From ABC: Dre teaches Andre Jr. how to trash-talk a school bully; Diane is afraid of the dark.
Episode Guide

Andre From Marseille

Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/18/2015
From ABC: Dre takes an instant dislike to Zoey's first serious boyfriend, a worldly teen from France.
Episode Guide

Big Night, Big Fight

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 2/11/2015
From ABC: Although Dre and Rainbow find they always end up quarreling on their annual Valentine's Day date, this time around, Dre is determined to do everything right and keep the peace.
Episode Guide

Martin Luther SKiing Day

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/14/2015
From ABC: On the way to the Johnson family's annual MLK holiday ski trip, Dre realizes his children may not know the significance of Dr.
Episode Guide

Law of Attraction

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/7/2015
From ABC: Dre thinks Rainbow is questioning his machismo after another man dismisses him in front of her.
Episode Guide

Black Santa/White Christmas

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 12/10/2014
From ABC: Dre campaigns to be the new Santa at the annual office Christmas party, but when that honor goes to Angelica, the lovely head of HR, he goes to great lengths to unseat her, because he's convinced Stevens & Lido needs a black Santa.
Episode Guide

Colored Commentary

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 12/3/2014
From ABC: Dre wants the family to feel more connected so he encourages "Team Johnson" to embrace what it means to have each other's backs.
Episode Guide

Oedipal Triangle

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/19/2014
From ABC: Dre's mother, Ruby, comes for a visit, and she smothers her pork chops with gravy, Dre with love, and would like to flat out smother Bow, who feels the same way about her.
Episode Guide

The Gift of Hunger

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/12/2014
From ABC: After the kids turn their collective noses up at Dre’s favorite cheap restaurant in his old 'hood, he decides it’s time to give them a reality check.
Episode Guide

The Prank King

Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 10/29/2014
From ABC: Dre fears his holiday fun will be ruined when the older kids balk at the glorious Johnson Halloween tradition of seeing who can pull the most outlandish pranks on each other.
Episode Guide

Crime and Punishment

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/22/2014
From ABC: Although Dre and Rainbow agreed they would no longer spank their kids, all bets might be off when Jack disobeys.
Episode Guide

Crazy Mom

Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/8/2014
From ABC: When Dre agrees to take over Rainbow's "mom" duties for a week, the overwhelming praise he gets from everyone at his kids' school goes to his head.
Episode Guide

The Nod

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/8/2014
From ABC: Dre sets out to expand Andre Jr's social circle to include more black kids after he discovers Andre Jr.
Episode Guide

The Talk

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 10/1/2014
From ABC: Dre, disappointed that Bow has already given Andre Jr. "the talk" because she thinks he's too big of a prude to do it, decides to rectify matters by giving his son HIS version of "the talk.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 9/24/2014
From ABC: Like any parents, Andre "Dre" and Rainbow Johnson want to give their children the best. But their offspring's childhood is turning out to be much different than theirs.