The Superstars: Preview of Series Premiere
The Superstars: Preview of Series Premiere
Glenn Diaz
Glenn Diaz
Staff Writer, BuddyTV
After Wipeout and I Survived a Japanese Game Show, ABC is launching yet another game show series, but this time, things are not as simple as completing a wacky obstacle course.

The Superstars, set to premiere tonight on ABC, pits eighth pairs of celebrity and athletes competing for the ultimate title of The Superstars Champion.  The new "alternative series" was shot entirely on location at the Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas, and features the likes of tennis grand slam champions and NFL greats as the contenders for the ultimate crown.

The eight athletes in contention are:

•    Tennis player and multiple grand slam winner Jennifer Capriati
•    Football player on infamous bra scene Brandi Chastain
•    NBA player and clutch shooter Robert Horry
•    17-season veteran and retired LA Dodger Jeff Kent
•    Top free skier and television personality Kristi Leskinen
•    WNBA legend Lisa Leslie
•    Olympic skier Bode Miller
•    Buffalo Bills receiver Terrell Owens

Meanwhile, they are paired with celebrities:

•    Baywatch star David Charvet
•    Dancing with the Stars dancing pro Maksim Chmerkovskiy
•    MTV Sports and My Dad is Better than Your Dad host and actor Dan Cortese
•    Extreme Makeover: Home Edition star Paige Hemmis
•    Singer and Gone Country winner Julio Iglesias, Jr.
•    Model and actress Joana Krupa
•    Former Miss USA and actress Ali Landry
•    Mr. and Mrs. Smith star Estella Warren

The team pairings for The Superstars are Terrell Owens & Joanna Krupa; Jeff Kent & Ali Landry; Robert Horry & Estella Warren: Bode Miller & Paige Hemmis; Kristi Leskinen & Maksim Chmerkovskiy; Lisa Leslie & Dan Cortese; Jennifer Capriati & David Charvet; and Brandi Chastain & Julio Iglesias, Jr.

In true reality show fashion, for every week, a team will be eliminated from the show until one team emerges The Superstars.  The challenges, include swimming, biking, running, and even kayaking.  In the past, The Superstars can boast of winners such as football star Herschel Walker in 1987, decathlete Dave Johnson in 1993 and current hopeful Olympic skier Bode Miller in 2002.

- Glenn Diaz, BuddyTV Staff Columnist
Source: ABC
(Image courtesy of ABC)