Season 1 Episodes

Episode Guide

No Surprises

Season 1, Episode 22 - Air Date: 5/15/2002
Jim plans a surprise party for Cheryl's birthday, but gets angry and cancels it when Dana spills the beans.
Episode Guide

Cheryl's Day Off

Season 1, Episode 21 - Air Date: 5/8/2002
Jim agrees to take the girls for the day while Cheryl and Dana go to a doctor's appointment. At the park, Jim leaves the girls with another mom and goes to the movies.
Episode Guide

Old Friends

Season 1, Episode 20 - Air Date: 5/1/2002
Jim has a run-in with an old friend from his wild and crazy days who is now a cop (Dan Aykroyd). Jim sets out to prove he's not an 'old married guy' by staying out all night and partying.
Episode Guide

The Receipt

Season 1, Episode 19 - Air Date: 4/24/2002
When the new DVD player breaks, Jim must find the receipt in order to exchange it. He can't find it anywhere and blames Cheryl of losing it.
Episode Guide

Birthday Boys

Season 1, Episode 18 - Air Date: 3/20/2002
It's Kyle and Andy's birthday, and Andy is feeling a little left out of his own special day. They decide to take him to a restaurant that serves a 4,5 lbs steak, and Jim offers to pay for the check because Cheryl isn't feeling equal to Dana, who's spending a lot of money on their kids.
Episode Guide

Date Night

Season 1, Episode 17 - Air Date: 3/13/2002
While out for dinner and a movie, Jim loses a parking spot, and later loses Cheryl when he can't let go of it.
Episode Guide

Under Pressure

Season 1, Episode 16 - Air Date: 3/6/2002
After Jim is diagnosed with high blood pressure, Cheryl decides to do everything to help him. She makes him special food, give him back rubs, and keeps asking about his day in order to free him from stress.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 15 - Air Date: 2/27/2002
When Cheryl reminds Jim that she beat him at racquetball years ago, he claims he was only letting her win to gain her affections, so Cheryl challenges him to a no-holds-barred re-match.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 14 - Air Date: 2/13/2002
When Cheryl has a revealing photo of herself taken as a Valentine gift to Jim, he proudly shows it to all his friends.
Episode Guide

The Money

Season 1, Episode 13 - Air Date: 1/30/2002
Cheryl decides to go behind Jim's back and loan Andy $1,000 for a down payment on a new condo.
Episode Guide

Model Behavior

Season 1, Episode 12 - Air Date: 1/23/2002
Jim and Cheryl agree to let Ruby model for a print ad as a one-time thing, but when the photographer calls her a natural, Jim gets Ruby an agent.
Episode Guide

Bad Word

Season 1, Episode 11 - Air Date: 1/16/2002
Cheryl leaves Jim in charge of their kids and some other kids who were there to play with the girls during a Bears game.
Episode Guide

An According to Jiminy Christmas

Season 1, Episode 10 - Air Date: 12/12/2001
Cheryl's mother is coming to visit them for Christmas and wants to stay at their house. Jim and Cheryl, however, prefer that she stayed at a hotel but don't know how to bring it up without insulting Maggie.
Episode Guide

Andy's Girlfriend

Season 1, Episode 9 - Air Date: 11/28/2001
Andy has a new girlfriend, and Cheryl wants Jim to treat her nicely because not only is she Andy's first girlfriend since Carrie, but also Ruby's piano teacher.
Episode Guide

The Turkey Bowl

Season 1, Episode 8 - Air Date: 11/21/2001
It's Thanksgiving and Jim and Andy are going bowling. Cheryl doesn't like the idea very much, so she sends the girls with him.
Episode Guide

Cheryl's Old Flame

Season 1, Episode 7 - Air Date: 11/14/2001
Jim and Cheryl find themselves wondering if they've set too many rules for their household when they find themselves arguing over whether to put a TV in the girls' room, making Jim promise Cheryl not to ride his motorcycle, and Ruby then tells Jim that Cheryl has been smoking again.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 6 - Air Date: 11/7/2001
Jim sets Dana up with a guy so perfect that even Cheryl falls for him. perfect
Episode Guide

Unruly Spirits

Season 1, Episode 5 - Air Date: 10/31/2001
It's Halloween, and Cheryl has forbidden Gracie to go trick-or-treating. However, not wanting his daughter to miss out on the fun of the Halloween spirit, he sneaks her out anyway.
Episode Guide


Season 1, Episode 4 - Air Date: 10/24/2001
On Jim and Cheryl's 10th Anniversary, Jim pays Dana to buy him an anniversary gift to give to Cheryl.
Episode Guide

The Cat Came Back

Season 1, Episode 3 - Air Date: 10/17/2001
Cheryl's 15 year-old cat Mr. Feeney dies and she wants Jim to bury it on the backyard, but Jim desperately wants to go to the Bears game.
Episode Guide

No Nookie

Season 1, Episode 2 - Air Date: 10/10/2001
Jim and Cheryl find their romantic getaway to the Bahamas set to work out perfectly, with Dana babysitting the kids.
Episode Guide

Pilot Episode

Season 1, Episode 1 - Air Date: 10/3/2001
Jim and Cheryl are the perfect middle class American couple. Happily married, living in a suburban house with two adorable (but loud) little girls and a baby boy, they really can't complain much about life – except for those couple fights that neither one can ever let go, like the time Jim shut the car door on Cheryl.